Baking #37: Chocolate Chiffon Cake

I baked two chiffon cakes in within a few hours yesterday. I baked a Chocolate Chiffon Cake before dinner so that I could bring over to Jia and then another Vanilla Chiffon Cake after I came home from Jia’s house. I baked a Vanilla Chiffon Cake for my colleagues as they had cooked up a fancy feast last Saturday as a belated celebration of my lunar birthday. So, I baked them a cake in return for their thoughtful gestures.

Anyways, you might have seen my Chocolate Chiffon Cake as I had already posted the picture of it on my previous blog entry. I am gonna share the recipe which I adapted from DessertzHouse for this particular chiffon bake. Click here for the link to her original recipe. The original recipe came with the ingredients for frosting. I omitted frosting as I find it bothersome and you have to finish the cake in within a short time to prevent the cake from being wet after getting soaked by the frosting for too long.

DSC06624

Chocolate Chiffon Cake (adapted from DessertzHouse)

Ingredients:

  • 8 egg yolks
  • 30g fine granulated sugar
  • 50g corn oil
  • 100g water
  • 70g cake flour
  • 50g cocoa powder
  • 8 egg whites
  • 100g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Mix cake flour and cocoa powder together. Set aside.
  2. Beat egg yolks with 30g of fine granulated sugar until the batter turns pale and creamy in texture.
  3. Add in corn oil and mix until well combined.
  4. Add in water and mix until well combined.
  5. Sift in cake flour and cocoa powder and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  6. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turns foamy and frothy.
  7. Gradually add in 100g of fine granulated sugar in three batches and beat until stiff peaks are formed.
  8. Gently fold in the meringue in three batches until no white streak could be seen.
  9. Pour mixed batter into a 22cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 40 to 45 minutes or until inserted skewer comes out clean.
  10. Invert cake immediately when removed from the oven for about two hours or cool enough to be handled.

My verdict on the cake is that the texture of the cake is extremely soft and fluffy. According to DessertzHouse, 8 eggs are used instead of the usual 7 eggs as lesser cake flour is used and cocoa powder tends to deflate egg whites very easily.

When I had completed folding in the meringue into the chocolate batter, I got quite a runny batter. I was pretty worried that my cake is not gonna be successful. But thankfully, the cake rose beautifully in the end without any leakage at the bottom of the pan. Jia mentioned that the texture of the cake was good and so did the sugar level but it would be nicer if the cake tastes less bitter. LOL!

Leave a Reply

