Skincare Buys #7

Just came home from Jia‘s house about an hour ago and had baked a Vanilla Chiffon Cake to share with colleagues tomorrow. They cooked up a fancy feast at workplace yesterday afternoon over lunch for my birthday. So, I decided to bake them a cake since they had been telling me that I never share my bakes with them. LOL!

Mom is flying over to Shanghai again at the end of this month and I am planning to bake Sister Cheesecake Brownie by DessertzHouse. I had baked Chocolate Chiffon Cake by DessertzHouse as well this afternoon and brought it over to Jia’s house after dinner.

Before I show you my skincare buys from Shanghai, let me show you the Chocolate Chiffon Cake which I baked this afternoon. I will blog about the recipe some other day. You can always refer to the original link in the mean time if you wish to.

DSC06624

Chocolate Chiffon Cake (adapted from DessertzHouse)

Moving on to my skincare buys …

I had overspent on skincare purchases on my previous holiday trip to Shanghai. I had even purchased a few items from Sasa before I am leaving for Shanghai as it takes time for delivery to Sister accommodation in Nanjing.

Delivery service was quick and prompt. I think it took less than five days to reach Sister. I bought three items from Sasa. Sasa was having this promotion whereby delivery within Mainland China is free via expedited shipping for purchases over RMB119 in one single receipt. I jumped at the chance, of course. RMB119 is less than B$25 when converted to Brunei’s currency.

DSC06558

Shiseido AquaLabel Cleansing Liquid | RMB78 (Watsons)
Kose Softymo Speedy Cleansing Oil | RMB65 (Sasa)
Shiseido Senka Perfect Liquid | RMB68 (Mannings)

DSC06562

Biore Cleansing Milk | RMB58 (Watsons)
Shiseido Senka Perfect Milk | RMB48 (Watsons)

DSC06565

Biore Facial Wash Hydration | RMB25 (Mannings)
Shiseido AquaLabel White Clear Foam | RMB79.10 (Sasa)
Shiseido Senka Perfect Whip | RMB35 (Sasa)

DSC06569

Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution | RMB349 (Shanghai Pudong International Airport)
Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief | RMB272 (Shanghai Pudong International Airport)

DSC06550

I did not get these Kose Sekkisei Lotion from Shanghai but I requested KinG to bring back two bottles for me from Singapore Changi International Airport while he was on the way back to Brunei from his business trip yesterday.

I was in luck yesterday as the original price for a bottle of Kose Sekkisei Lotion 360ml is about S$76 at the airport. But there was a promotion going on, hence he got me two bottles of the same size for S$97.30 only after a further reduction of 30% from S$139.

10 thoughts on “Skincare Buys #7

  1. Can’t wait to read your reviews about the Senka and Aqualabel cleansers n makeup removers.

    I’m currently using Aqualabel and Senka. Just finished a bottle of Perfect Liquid.

    Btw, is Aqualabel available in Brunei ? over here in KL, Shiseido seems to have stopped stocking up more than half the range. and those that are available seems to be old stock. Shiseido seems to be concentrating on Senka more nowadays.

    1. AquaLabel is not available in Brunei yet at the moment. The nearest I could get them is in Miri from Boulevard. I got all these products while I went holiday in Shanghai last week. Some of which I bought from Sasa online and have them posted over to my Sister’s place.

      I guess Senka is more popular than AquaLabel nowadays? Senka is still not available in Miri though.

      I wanted to buy the AquaLabel Moist Cleansing Oil from Watsons, Shanghai. But the BA told me that the product was either discontinued or out of stock. But they still display sample on their counter but not selling. So, one of them recommended me their Cleansing Liquid instead.

      How do you like Perfect Liquid? I am still contemplating which cleansing milk/oil I should use next since I am running low on my current cleansing oil already. LOL!

  2. I hope they don’t discontinue Aqualabel in Malaysia. The Whitening Jelly Essence and White Clear Foam are my favourites atm.

    Senka is cheaper so that’s why it is more heavily promoted by Shiseido here. But the stock is always old except for Perfect Whip. the manufactured date for a Senka whitening lotion i bought last year was Feb 2012. when i finished that bottle end of last year i wanted to get another one but the stocks were old…made in 2011 LOL. i think these brands ain’t doing too well or Malaysia is being used as a dumping ground.

    Luckily u didn’t buy the AquaLabel Moist Cleansing Oil. its horrible. doesn’t cleanse very well n leaves a thick oily layer. to make things worse it wasn’t stored properly in store so d tube smelled like a sweaty painter with strong body odour.

    Perfect Liquid is alright but can’t really remove anything that is water/sweat/oil resistant at all. It is pretty drying too so be careful. U could try the Senka Perfect Watery Oil. its the only cleansing oil that leaves my face squeaky clean. however the cleansing power isn’t too great. it wont be able to remove long lasting sunscreens like Biore milks on its own so double cleansing is necessary. But its still my fav C.O though.

    1. I don’t think they will discontinue AquaLabel altogether. Probably limited stocks and only sold in certain departmental stores?

      When I bought my AquaLabel Cleansing Liquid, they gave me lots of samples. Same samples but big in quantity. I was being given an essence which claimed to be for the eyes. But I think it’s actually for the face rather than the eyes. And an effector.

      Perhaps that’s the reason why AquaLabel Moist Cleansing Oil was discontinued? Not good enough. Thank you for the heads up. Glad that I did buy one. If they have not discontinued, I am very likely to have gotten one by now. LOL!

      I had wanted to buy Senka Perfect Water Oil but it was not available in Shanghai. They only have Perfect Whip, Perfect Milk and Perfect Liquid from the range. I think I can only get Watery Oil from SG or KL.

      I am starting Senka Perfect Milk tonight since I ran out of my previous cleansing oil already. I had been using Lancome cleansing milk while I was in SH and it worked on my skin well enough. So,I hope this cleansing milk from Senka will be as good as the one from Lancome.

  3. I have messaged Shiseido Malaysia and asked them if Aqualabel is going to be discontinued locally and they said no but only products that sell well will be stocked. But based on my observation, I think Aqualabel will eventually be gone from the local market. Limited n old stocks, little promotions n poor display space.

    Better to get Watery Oil from SG. The stock in Malaysia is old (made in 2012). But its oil so the manufactured date don’t matter to me much.

    From the reviews I have read about Perfect Milk, it is actually a liquid type foaming cleanser. similar to Sekkisei White Liquid Wash. But perfect milk is much stronger I think. I have always been intrigued by Perfect Milk and really want to try it. unfortunately it is not available locally. all of the 2 in 1 makeup remover + cleansers i have tried failed to remove water resistant sunscreens completely.

    1. I am never bothered to check manufacturing dates of the skincare products which I bought. Guess I need to check the labels and dates whenever I buy from Malaysia next time.

      I did not know that Perfect Milk is a facial cleanser. I thought it is a makeup remover like normal cleansing milk! Thanks for letting me know.

      From the images which I saw on Google, this Perfect Milk seems to lather very well. As a matter of fact, I think it lathers even better than Kose Sekkisei White Liquid Wash!

      1. As Perfect Milk isn’t available in Malaysia n there are very few reviews online, I am looking forward to your review of it 🙂

    2. I don’t think I had even seen one review of Perfect Milk online.

      But I haven’t start using Perfect Milk since you said it’s a facial cleanser rather than a cleansing milk. I used AquaLabel Cleansing Liquid instead. It was okay actually. At least the fragrance is subtler than the cleansing oil from the same range.

      Have you ever used Neutrogena Foam Cleanser? The one that comes in Mulberry or Pink Grapefruit flavors? I am using the former and I think it is quite good actually. A little bit expensive for a Neutrogena brand but at least Watsons does promotion once in a while for Neutrogena products.

      1. The only Neutrogena cleanser I have used is the Deep Clean Foaming Cleanser. Found it a bit too strong for my liking. I generally stay away from gel type facial cleansers.

    3. Oh … I don’t really like the facial cleansers from Neutrogena before. They kind of strip skin moisture after prolonged use.

      What I am talking about is this …

      Surprisingly, this was good on my skin. It’s foamy but the foam is not as smooth as those from Biore. Pricing wise, a little bit expensive for Neutrogena but Watsons might do promotion once in a while for the product.

Leave a Reply

