Baking #38: Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake (18cm)

Mom flew to Shanghai this morning and I am left on my own with Dad, which means I have to cook our daily meals. I baked thrice yesterday and I had also baked Mini Sausage Buns with hand kneaded dough rather than bread machine kneaded dough. It turned out that I am still not familiar with hand knead as I was not able to knead the dough till window pane stage. And the buns turned out to be rather hard to chew couple of hours after they were being removed from the oven.

I guess I still have to rely on a bread machine when attempting bread next time. LOL! Anyways, I baked two chiffon cakes yesterday. A 23cm Vanilla Chiffon Cake for KinG whom I asked to come and collect the cake himself from my home as I was too lazy to drive out and a 18cm Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake for Sister. I baked a small sized chiffon cake for Sister as I doubt she will be able to finish a big size one on her own since the cake a little too bitter for my Mom.

DSC06653

And I bought myself a new tub of cocoa powder. Instead of buying Nestle this time, I got one from Hershey’s. It was not that I intentionally chose Hershey’s over Nestle but only the former was available on the shelf. According to Kaylie, the Hershey’s one tastes better than the Nestle one anyways. But it was not easily available in Brunei due to the price. A tub of Hershey’s was B$5.75 while the Nestle one was only B$4.50.

DSC06656

Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake (adapted from Anncoo Journal)

I had attempted a Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake in the size of 21cm before and it happened to be my “virgin” chiffon cake bake. Yes, I attempted a Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake first of all other flavors of chiffon cake that I could choose from. When I first started out baking couple of months ago, this particular chiffon cake was very common in majority baking blogs which I had came across. And I think the hype came back again as I saw another few more bloggers attempting this particular chiffon cake.

I usually avoid chiffon bakes that requires cocoa powder as cocoa powder tends to deflate egg white batter very easily which results in a liquid batter rather than an airy one. Sister mentioned that she wanted a chiffon cake which tastes like kaya or pandan when I asked which flavor she wanted previously. I am not so keen on baking Pandan Chiffon Cake as the coconut cream makes the cake go bad very quickly if it isn’t stored inside the fridge.

Then I decided to bake her this 18cm Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake which she did not get to taste a lot of my previous Rich Chocolate Chiffon Cake which I adapted from Nasi Lemak Lover.

Anyways, enough of the lengthy words and let’s get this blog entry rolling!

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 35g corn oil
  • 60g full cream milk
  • 80g dark chocolate *used Whittaker’s 62% Dark Cacao%*
  • 15g cocoa powder *used Hershey’s 100% Cacao*
  • 35g cake flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3 egg whites
  • 50g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Directions: 

  1. Mix dry ingredients – cake flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda together. Set aside.
  2. Melt dark chocolate over a pot of simmering water. Remove from heat immediately when they had completely melted.
  3. Beat egg yolks until it had turned pale and a little creamy.
  4. Add in corn oil, milk and melted chocolate in sequence, mix well.
  5. Sift in the mixed dry ingredients and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  6. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turned foamy and frothy.
  7. Gradually add in fine granulated sugar in three batches until stiff peaks are formed.
  8. Gently fold in the egg whites batter into the chocolate batter in three batches until no white streak could be seen.
  9. Pour batter into an ungreased 18cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 165 degree Celsius for 40 minutes or until inserted skewer comes out clean.
  10. Invert cake immediately when removed from the oven immediately for approximately an hour or cool enough to be unmoulded.

The cake turned out to be a little bit dry on the crust when I had unmoulded it for storage. And it tasted bitter as well. I am not a huge fan for dark chocolate compared to Sister so my judgement for this cake may not be accurate and solid. It has to be from someone who likes dark chocolate. I shall update her verdict(s) when she gets to taste the cake herself.

************************

IMG_0495

Verdict from Sister herself of my Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake.

IMG_0496

Verdict from KinG himself whom I baked Vanilla Chiffon Cake for yesterday afternoon. Glad that both Sister and him thought that my chiffon cakes were nice.

Leave a Reply

