Baking #39: Green Tea (Matcha) Chiffon Cake

I bought a bottle of Green Tea Powder from LeApple Bakery Mart couple of months ago but never gotten round to try it until yesterday evening. I had ran out of flavor to try for my chiffon cake bakes and it struck me that I still had a bottle of unopened Green Tea Powder. I had thought of baking a Green Tea (Matcha) Chiffon Cake couple of months ago when I had just gotten the powder but my colleague mentioned that the cake might taste a little bitter.

Anyways, decided to be daring yesterday evening and baked Green Tea (Matcha) Chiffon Cake while waiting for Eldie (Jia‘s brother) to come by to fix my computer. My computer tends to crash on it’s own whenever I am watching a video, be it from YouTube or Real Player. Eldie suspected that it could be the RAM or motherboard breaking down at first. But when I told him it only tends to crash when watching videos, it could be my graphic card or so which is faulty.

DSC06667

As I mentioned earlier, I bought this bottle of Green Tea Powder from LeApple Bakery Mart. I like shopping there more than at a supermarket sometimes. But oh well, it depends on what products I am after though. I like that LeApple has almost all baking ingredients one could look for under one roof. If you can’t find the baking ingredient which you are after at your local supermarket, there is a high chance that LeApple will have it.

DSC06671

Green Tea (Matcha) Chiffon Cake (adapted from DessertzHouse)

I used another method to unmould my chiffon cake from the original pan this morning. Hence, you can still see crumbs sticking by the side. I think I have got to brush up my unmoulding skill. I will always ended up with a torn crust 2 out of 10 times!

Ingredients:

  • 7 egg yolks
  • 30g fine granulated sugar
  • 80ml corn oil
  • 100ml water
  • 130g cake flour
  • 15g green tea powder
  • 7 egg whites
  • 100 fine granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Mix together cake flour and green tea powder until well combined. Set aside.
  2. Beat egg yolks with 30g of fine granulated sugar until pale and creamy.
  3. Add in corn oil and mix well.
  4. Add in water and mix well.
  5. Sift in pre-mixed cake flour and green tea powder and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  6. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turns foamy and frothy.
  7. Gradually add in 100g of fine granulated sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peaks stage.
  8. Gently fold in the egg whites batter into the green tea batter in three batches until no white streak could be seen.
  9. Pour mixed batter into an ungreased 8″ chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 40 to 45 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  10. Invert the cake immediately when removed from the oven and let it cool down for about two hours or cool enough to be unmoulded for the chiffon pan.

DSC06673

I was rather disappointed with the texture of my Green Tea (Matcha) Chiffon Cake when I sliced it up this morning. It was a little bit wet compared to my previous bakes of other chiffon cakes. The sweetness level was just perfect and the taste of green tea was subtler than I imagined it would be. Perhaps I should have baked the cake for another five more minutes so that the texture would be drier than what I am getting now.

And most importantly, I failed badly in folding in the egg whites this time. There were quite a few parts where I could see egg whites not completely dissolved and the chiffon cake ended up with a few white patches and holes in certain parts of the cake. I was afraid that my batter was too much for an 8″ chiffon pan to hold so I used an 9″ instead. The cake did not rise very high in the end, so I guess an 8″ chiffon pan will fit just perfectly.

2 thoughts on “Baking #39: Green Tea (Matcha) Chiffon Cake

    1. Hi Aisya,

      You can get Cream of Tartar from LeApple Bakery & Mart at Menglait. Alternatively, you can also find it at Hua Ho. I had seen it at both Hua Ho in Kiulap and Yayasan. The one sold at Hua Ho has longer shelf life compared to the one at LeApple Bakery & Mart. Either way, both works good enough.

      You are also attempting on chiffon cakes?

Leave a Reply

