Baking #41: Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake

It took me quite some time to locate dried cranberries in Brunei. I had tried majority supermarkets in town. I had also tried Supa Save, Gadong and I still couldn’t find it until my colleague sent me a picture of dried cranberries selling at Supa Save, Mabohai.

I drove to Supa Save, Mabohai last Tuesday just for those dried cranberries so that I could attempt Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake. A packet of dried cranberries is not cheap but I think they are well worth it as the Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake tasted very good after it was baked!

DSC06751

Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake

If you looked carefully, you would see that the sides of my Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake is pretty torn up. My unmoulding skill seems to be horrible lately. Majority of my chiffon cakes turned out to look rather hideous lately when I had unmoulded them from their chiffon pans.

Anyways, here’s the recipe for Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake, adapted from Happy Home Baking.

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks *used extra large eggs*
  • 25g fine granulated sugar *20g*
  • 40ml corn oil
  • 80g plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp lemon juice *omitted*
  • 80g cake flour
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 55g fine granulated sugar *40g*
  • 60g dried cranberries
  • some cake flour for dusting

Directions:

  1. Chop dried cranberries into smaller pieces, coat them with some flour and sieve to remove excess. Set aside.
  2. Beat egg yolks with 20g of fine granulated sugar until they turned slightly pale in color and creamy.
  3. Add in corn oil and mix well.
  4. Add in plain yogurt and mix well.
  5. Sift in cake flour and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  6. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turned foamy and frothy.
  7. Gradually add in 40g of fine granulated sugar in three batches until stiff peaks are formed.
  8. Gently fold in the meringue into the egg yolks batter in three batches until no white streak could be seen.
  9. Lastly, add in the flour coated dried cranberries into the mixed batter and fold them in gently. Be careful not to overmix the batter.
  10. Pour batter into an ungreased 18cm chiffon cake pan and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for 30 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  11. Invert the chiffon cake immediately when removed from the oven for approximately an hour or until the cake is cool enough to be unmoulded.

DSC06753

At first, I thought my Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake is gonna taste a little bit sour since I had reduced quite a lot of the sugar quantity and yogurt is supposed to taste sourish. But surprisingly, the sweetness level turned out to be just fine and well balanced. Both dried cranberries and yogurt seem to compliment each other very well. And therefore, this recipe is definitely a keeper for me. I am gonna try making it into cupcakes version soon but with another recipe.

DSC06754

A close shot of my Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake!

Leave a Reply

