Baking #42: Dried Cranberries Muffins

It’s been another few days since the last I updated this blog of mine. Couldn’t seem to gather the mood to blog about lately as my computer crashed again in the middle of the night the other day and I am gonna send my CPU for servicing again. Eldie suspected that it might have something to do with my RAM. It’s either my RAM or the motherboard breaking down. I can hear cash money going out right now.

Kaylie and I met up for lunch this morning since I need to buy some baking ingredients from Supa Save, Gadong. I intended to try Piccolo Cafe in town but Kaylie finds it a bit inconvenient for her to go from her office and finding a parking space could be a nightmare during lunch hour as well. And furthermore, you need to have parking coupon on standby when parking in town. So, the both of us ended up at Fuchow Restaurant in Kiulap. No need to worry about parking space. LOL!

Anyways, I baked again this afternoon after I am done with my grocery shopping. I baked Dried Cranberries Muffins with the recipe of Blueberry & Cream Cheese Muffins from DessertzHouse. I tweaked a little bit from the original recipe and substituted fresh blueberries with dried cranberries, as requested by one of my colleagues.

Without further ado, let me show you my version of Dried Cranberries Muffins!

DSC06785

Ingredients: 

  • 340g cake flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 140g unsalted butter
  • 220g fine granulated sugar *200g*
  • 2 eggs
  • 320g natural plain yogurt
  • 100g dried cranberries

Directions: 

  1. Mix together cake flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Sift and set aside.
  2. Mix one tablespoon of the flour with the dried cranberries and set aside.
  3. Beat butter and fine granulated sugar until pale and fluffy.
  4. Add in eggs one at a time and beat until well incorporated.
  5. Add in vanilla extract and mix well.
  6. Add in butter mixture with the natural plain yogurt into the flour mixture mix well.
  7. Gently fold in the dried cranberries.
  8. Scoop mixtures evenly between the paper cases and bake in a preheated oven of 190 degree Celsius for about 20 to 25 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean in the centre of a muffin.

DSC06790

So, this was how my Dried Cranberries Muffins looked like on the inside when I sliced it up into half. The top may be a little bit hard as it is slightly more browned than what I hoped them to be. But nevertheless, the muffin still tastes good as it was soft on the inside. They are not like the muffins sold in majority cafes and coffee shops. What I found out recently was that with the use of natural plain yogurt or sour cream, they make muffins or butter cakes stay soft for days.

You can add in any kind of dried or fresh fruits that you want, be it cranberries, raisins, sultanas, blueberries and etc. I had previously tried with fresh blueberries. They were not as good as these as the fresh blueberries were extremely sour. So, another colleague of mine suggested to me using blueberry jam instead next time. If you are a huge fan of muffin, perhaps you should try out this recipe. But this recipe is definitely a keeper for me.

Anyways, I did not figure this recipe out all by myself. It was adapted from DessertzHouse with her recipe on Blueberry & Cream Cheese Muffin. All I did was substituting the fresh blueberries with dried cranberries.

 

Leave a Reply

