31102014 / Sushi Tei, Gadong Central

Kaylie and I had originally planned to try Danes Cafe at Batu Bersurat. But unfortunately, the said cafe was doing a Halloween party yesterday evening. All are welcome but the only downside is that they are not serving ala carte dishes but buffet for B$45 per person. Not sure what is in their buffet dinner menu but I am not comfortable with the on and off colorful lighting as well as the background music.

So, the both of us had dinner at Sushi Tei, Gadong Central instead since we couldn’t decide where. Kaylie had always wanted to go Sushi Tei, Gadong Central for dinner since last month but we did not make it in the end as she has some family matters to attend to at that point of time.

We thought that Sushi Tei might be jam packed since it is pay day time. But much to our surprises, the entire restaurant was completely deserted apart from a few staffs working at that time. So, we practically had the entire restaurant to ourselves. LOL!

Without further ado, let me show you what we ordered yesterday evening for dinner.

DSC06812

Kitsune Udon | B$8.00

DSC06819

Chicken Katsu | B$6.80

DSC06814

Tamago Maki | B$2.20

All the above three were ordered by Kaylie and she had them all alone! Quite surprised to see her ordering so much for herself. Hahaha … When Kitsune Udon was served to her, it looked very appetizing to me to the extent that I almost regretted ordering bento for myself. But of course, I would go for Soba instead of Udon.

According to Kaylie, the soup tasted just right but the fish cakes were overly sweet and she ended up not eating the remaining. She finds her soup portion to be little compared to when she ordered the same thing previously.

DSC06816

Spicy Salmon | B$2.70

DSC06821

Chicken Katsu Curry Bento | B$11.90

I had actually wanted to try their Sashimi Salad but decided not to when the waiter told me that the portion is pretty big. I don’t think I will be able to finish it all when I had also ordered myself a bento. Furthermore, Kaylie doesn’t eat sashimi and raw vegetables ain’t her favorite food either. LOL!

My bento came with Chicken Katsu Curry, green salad, sushi and deep fried salmon fillets with breadcrumbs. The Chicken Katsu Curry was quite nice. At least it wasn’t as salty as I remembered previously. Deep fried salmon was not bad too but I don’t really like fried food with breadcrumbs. It kinda make the food tastes dry.

PS: I just found out that we can now renew our Sushi Tei Card for free when it had expired. I came to know this when the waitress asked if I have their member card. I told her that I did have one but it had expired. She then told me that they can now renew for free. If you also have an expired Sushi Tei Card like mine, remember to bring your card over for renewal the next time you dine at Sushi Tei.

Sushi Tei
42 & 43, Block C,
Bangunan Gadong Central,
Kampung Menglait,
Gadong,
Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2449977

Leave a Reply

