Baking #45: Chocolate Chips Muffins

It’s my day off today so I went to town this morning for eyebrows trimming, manicure and pedicure. I had been meaning to do the mentioned last off day but I was lazy after my dentist appointment. I couldn’t stand my growing out of shape eyebrows and chapping nails anymore, hence decided that I am gonna do them all in one morning. Surprisingly, I managed to get all three done in within an hour at two different beauty salons.

As I am planning to bake some muffins for both Alan and Kaylie the next time I go Miri, I decided to bake Chocolate Chips Muffins this afternoon so that I know what to alter and adjust next time.

DSC06830

The secret behind a soft and moist muffin is the usage of natural plain yogurt. You can choose any other brand of yogurt but I prefer this brand over the others. I had tried Marigold brand and I don’t like the texture as much as compared to when using this. Yogurt is supposed to make your cakes go soft and moist. I had came across a few recipes whereby they made use of sour cream instead of yogurt. I think yogurt and sour cream are pretty much the same, both are sour. LOL!

DSC06832

The “flavor” of my muffins this time round …

Without further ado, let me show you the ingredients required for these muffins and how to make them!

Ingredients:

  • 340g cake flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 140g butter, softened
  • 200g fine granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 320g natural plain yogurt
  • 100g chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Mix cake flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. Sift and set aside.
  2. Mix a tablespoon of the flour mixture with the chocolate chips and set aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Add in vanilla extract and mix well.
  5. Add in eggs one at a time and beat until well combined.
  6. Add in butter mixture with natural plain yogurt into the flour mixture and fold well.
  7. Gently fold in the chocolate chips.
  8. Scoop mixture evenly between 12cm cupcakes liners and bake in a preheated oven of 190 degree Celsius for approximately 20 to 25 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean in the centre of a muffin.

DSC06834

This was how my muffins looked like just before I popped them into the oven for baking! Decided to be creative and added some chocolate chips as toppings. But I only did it for the first batch though.

DSC06836

Loves how my muffins look like in the oven when they started to puff up! You must be wondering why I have to metal bowls holding my muffin tray? Well, I couldn’t slide in my muffin tray into the centre layer without it being slanting.

DSC06839

Chocolate Chips Muffins! (adapted from and inspired by DessertzHouse)

DSC06846

This was how my Chocolate Chips Muffins looked on the inside. It had more holes than usual and I couldn’t be sure what went wrong though. According to Mom, these muffins were softer than before but a little dry? I wonder if it could be due to the chocolate chips?

I personally find 100g of chocolate chips are too little for these muffins and I am gonna increase to 150g next time when I bake for Alan and Kaylie. I like the chocolate chips to be flowing in the muffins!

Leave a Reply

