Baking #46: Brownie Cheesecake

I was pretty disappointed with the outcome of the Brownie Cheesecake which I baked yesterday afternoon before dinner. I baked it with the Tegral Moist Chocolate Cake Mix which my cousin bought me couple of months ago. She had been asking if I had tried the cake mix for a couple of times to the extent that I felt guilty of not having tried it earlier. So, I decided to bake it yesterday so that I could share some with Jennifer.

DSC06838

So, this was the cake mix which I used yesterday to make Brownie Cheesecake. The ingredients are pretty straightforward and they are listed on the product itself. But I had a few adjustments based on another recipe which my cousin gave me.

Ingredients:

Brownie

  • 500g Tegral Moist Chocolate Cake Mix
  • 200g eggs *3 extra large size eggs*
  • 50ml full cream milk
  • 125g melted butter

Cheese

  • 250g cream cheese, softened
  • 60g fine granulated sugar
  • 70g eggs *1 extra large size egg*

Directions:

  1. To make the brownie, sift the Tegral Moist Chocolate Cake Mix and make a well in the centre.
  2. Pour beaten eggs into the well and mix in the cake mix until well combined.
  3. Gently fold in the full cream milk.
  4. Take a few huge dollops of the chocolate batter and mix with the melted butter until fully well incorporated.
  5. Pour in the chocolate batter mixed with melted butter back into the chocolate batter and fold well.
  6. To make the cream cheese batter, cream softened cream cheese until it is light and fluffy.
  7. Add in sugar and mix well.
  8. Add in egg and beat well until all were well incorporated.
  9. Pour chocolate batter as the bottom layer followed by the cream cheese batter as the top layer in a greased and lined 8″ square baking pan and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for 35 t0 45 minutes or until inserted skewer comes out clean.

DSC06854

To be honest, I think this Brownie Cheesecake which I baked was only average. I would prefer baking Brownie Cheesecake from scratch rather than using a pack of ready made cake mix. I am gonna try the Oreo Brownie Cheesecake by DessertzHouse soon.

Anyways, I am up for baking session again tonight and I intend to attempt the Cafe Style Carrot Cake which was just uploaded by DessertzHouse this afternoon. So, stay tune for my version if you are interested. See ya!

One thought on “Baking #46: Brownie Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

