Today’s Breakfast #18: Banana Pancakes

It had been quite some time since the last time I made pancakes for breakfast. I think the last time was probably half a year ago? A colleague of mine bought bananas few days ago and we couldn’t finish them all at once as some of them were not fully ripe yet. She then gave me the remaining as she knew that I am obsessed with baking. But she did told me not to make chiffon cake with those bananas. Guess she really is sick of chiffon cakes!

I had intended to make Sour Cream Banana Cake by SeaDragon but I couldn’t get hold of sour cream yet. So, I decided to make do with Banana Pancakes instead. I saw a few pictures of Banana Pancakes on the Internet and they looked really good. Rather than following exactly the recipe which I found on the Internet, I used the recipe which I had been using for ordinary pancakes and added mashed bananas into the pancake batter.

The other recipe which I found on the Internet has ground cinnamon in it which I highly doubt my colleagues are gonna like the taste of ground cinnamon in their pancakes. I personally find the taste of ground cinnamon okay but it depends on what it is to be mixed with. I think ground cinnamon is best paired with apples or bananas.

DSC06934

Banana Pancakes (adapted from How To Make Fluffy Pancakes)

Ingredients:

  • 250g all purpose flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 475ml full cream milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp fine granulated sugar
  • 60g unsalted butter, melted
  • 3 medium sized ripe bananas, mashed

Directions:

  1. Mix together all purpose flour and baking powder. Sift and set aside.
  2. Beat eggs and sugar together until well combined.
  3. Add in milk and mashed bananas into the egg mixture and mix until well combined.
  4. Make a well in the centre of the flour mixture and pour in the banana batter and mix until well combined.
  5. Stir in the melted butter and mix well.
  6. Heat up your non-stick cooking pan and pour in some cooking oil or butter, depending on individual preference.
  7. Use an ice-cream scoop or ladle to scoop the mixture and pour onto cooking pan in the shape of a circle.
  8. Flip over the pancake when you see bubbles forming on top of the batter.
  9. Remove from cooking pan to serve when both sides of the pancakes are brownish in color.

For those of you who like your pancakes sweet, you can always add in one or two more tablespoons of fine granulated sugar. Or you could drizzle some honey or maple syrup on top of the pancake before eating. I personally find my pancakes not to be as soft and fluffy as I used to make them previously. Perhaps I had over mixed my batter too much?

Leave a Reply

