Review: Danes Cafe

I got to try out Danes Cafe with Kaylie yesterday evening and it was two weeks after our initial plan to visit Danes Cafe on Halloween night. We cancelled dinner at Danes Cafe that evening as the cafe was doing a Halloween themed buffet dinner and the both of us weren’t keen in joining the crowd. And furthermore, the price tag for their buffet dinner was steep. It was B$45 per person!

Considering that I had nothing to do yesterday evening, I decided to ask Kaylie if she was free for dinner and it turned out that she was commitment free yesterday evening. So, we met at Danes Cafe at around 7:30p.m. in the evening. There were a few tables of patrons at the time when we arrived and there was no other patron anymore at the time when we left.

I did not take much pictures of the interior of Danes Cafe but I am extremely impressed that their staffs are so capable of doing the Christmas drawings on the walls. And the drawings looked nice too!

DSC06951

The dining tables top come with the drawings of various superheroes from various animated movies like Batman, Bolt, Green Lantern and so on. The seating are pretty comfortable in my opinion as sofa pillows were provided as well.

DSC06952

There are some dishes which are not included in the menu, if I am not mistaken. There is a board on top of their Cashier counter that lists down their Today’s Specials. So, do look at the board if you are looking for something different than the ordinary ones from their menu.

The menu of Danes Cafe was simple and straightforward. I only had something in mind which I wanna try way before I went there yesterday evening. It was their Pork Lasagna. But unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. But anyways, let me show you what we had for dinner yesterday evening.

DSC06945

Caramel Latte | B$6.00

Whoops! I did not realize that this cup of Caramel Latte of mine was B$6.00 for a small cup until I went through my receipt just a while ago. But anyways, I quite like their Caramel Latte despite the steep price for such a small cup. Albeit it was caramel flavored, the latte doesn’t taste too sweet unlike some others which I had tried before. The sweetness level was just perfect for me and the coffee taste was still strong.

DSC06950

French Fries | B$5.00

Danes Cafe serves two kinds of fries. There is this ordinary one and another one comes with toppings of bacon and cheese. So, if you are a lover of these two toppings, you could always give that a try when you visit Danes Cafe next time. Kaylie chose the ordinary one as she is not much of a cheese fan compared to me.

She claimed that Danes Cafe serves the best french fries in town. I personally think the one served at Coffee Zone was pretty not bad too. Indeed the french fries served at Danes Cafe were good. They were crunchy on the inside and super soft on the inside. It made you wanting for more!

DSC06941

Cha Siu Kolo Mee | B$5.00

I was surprised that Kaylie came all the way here for their Cha Siu Kolo Mee. I asked her what was so special about this Kolo Mee that she was willing to spend B$5.00 for it when you could probably get half price cheaper at other Chinese restaurants in town. According to her, there is no way that you could find the same kind of Kolo Mee in Brunei.

The noodles that they are using are not the usual Kolo Mee that you find in Brunei. It’s the kind of noodles sold in Kuching and it has a Q texture. And that explained why my colleagues always ask my parents to buy some Kolo Mee from Kuching previously.

Their Cha Siu Kolo Mee comes with minced pork but Kaylie requested no minced pork in her bowl of Kolo Mee. Honestly speaking, that bowl of Cha Siu Kolo Mee looked extremely appetizing as Kaylie was tucking in her food. LOL!

DSC06946

Pork Lasagna | B$13.00

The reason why I ordered this was that I was intrigued at how Pork Lasagna would taste like when I usually have Chicken Lasagna instead. To be honest, I was not even sure if my Pork Lasagna was properly cooked as the texture of the minced pork inside was too mushy compared to how it was supposed to be. But the topping of cheese and cream was generous though.

Verdict: I quite like the ambiance of Danes Cafe as it is very comforting and cozy. And most importantly, it is the first cafe in town that serves non-Halal food. Food wise, I think I will give Pork Lasagna a miss as I don’t find it as good as I hoped it to be but I am tempted to try their Kolo Mee next time. Price wise, it is definitely on the steep side but it is something that you can indulge yourself with once in a while.

Danes Cafe
Unit 102, Bangunan Bersurat,
Jalan Batu Bersurat, Gadong,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2428914

Leave a Reply

