Review: Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution

I am pretty surprised at the rate that I am using skincare products lately. My skincare products never seem to be able to hit bottom previously but now I am starting to get empty bottles very often. My current pot of Origins Plantscription Anti-Aging Eye Treatment is hitting bottom and I think I had only used it for about four months. My previous pot of Artistry Youth Xtend Enriching Eye Cream lasted me for about 7 to 8 months! Sister even joked that perhaps Mom had been using my eye cream lately. Well, her eye cream is way more expensive than mine and I doubt she would wanted to use mine anyways.

Seriously, I have no idea why my skincare products seem to be running low very soon. Even my colleague said that it is weird for a pot of eye cream to finish in within four months time. Honestly speaking, how long does it take for your eye cream to finish? It usually takes forever, right? But anyways, never mind about that. What I need to worry right now is to whether find a new product for my eyes or stick to Artistry Youth Xtend Enriching Eye Cream again. I will worry about that later.

DSC06572

Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution

I am not much of a Kiehl’s products user to be honest as we do not have any Kiehl’s counter nearby. The nearest one was probably in Kuching or Sabah. But I did hear that they have a few star products which I have never tried before. The other product which I owned from Kiehl’s was their Cucumber Herbal Alcohol Free Toner and it takes me forever to finish. I still have a bottle full of the toner as I only use it once it a while. Albeit there is no alcohol content in the toner, it still stings my skin most of the time during application. There were only a couple of times whereby it doesn’t sting and works like normal toner.

I always visit a Kiehl’s outlet whenever I see one but I always came out empty handed. So, I was shopping at the duty free shop at Shanghai Pudong International Airport last September and I found this product. I was running out of my Elizabeth Arden Visible Whitening Melanin Control Day Essence at that time and this just came at the right timing. After checking the price with the BA, I decided to get one for myself since it fitted into my budget range.

DSC06977

So, this product comes with a pump and squeeze dispenser. I like this kind of dispenser as it is very hygienic and you definitely wouldn’t go overdose on the liquid per application. The liquid is housed in a small transparent glass bottle. The liquid is completely clear in color. The texture of the liquid is rather watery compared to the usual serum which I had used previously.

It has a nice scent, therapeutic would be the word for it. It smells of lavender. I did not like the scent that much the first few times when I was using it. I only started to like the scent days after I started using.

So, when and how do you use this product? 

I use this product twice a day – day and night. You will only need a few droplets per application. I  use about one or two droplets per application. After dispensing the required amount onto my fingers, I dot them onto a few spots on my face for easy application later. The serum absorbs onto my skin fast and very well. But if you go overdose with the serum per application, it may leave your skin feeling and looking wet before it was fully absorbed. So, it varies actually, depending on how fast your skin absorb the skincare products which you applied on it.

As serums don’t usually have much moisturizing properties, you will need to apply a layer of moisturizer after the serum. It works for other brands of serums well. As for me, I apply Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief during the day and Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Skin Balancing Night Cream Combination during the night.

Does it work well enough? 

Hmm …. After having used the said product for about a month and a half, I can see that my skin complexion had brightened up. I wouldn’t say it had brightened up my skin complexion drastically as that was not the case. In terms of dark spots, I don’t see much difference that it did on my skin though. All in all, I think this product works well enough but not good enough in toning down the dark spots. However, it did brightened up my skin complexion.

So, here’s what I think of Kiehl’s Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Smells therapeutic.
2. Comes with pump and squeeze dispenser.
3. Absorbs onto the skin fast.
4. Brightened up skin complexion.

Cons:
1. Doesn’t seem to work well with dark spots.
2. Expensive.
3. No Kiehl’s counter nearby.

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Price: RMB349 (~B$72)

Repurchase? Nope

Leave a Reply

