Baking #49: Banana Chiffon Cake (22cm)

Woke up early this morning as a staff had been messaging me while I was sleeping. So, I ended up waking up earlier before my alarm goes off. I went CityHair Studio this morning for my overdue hair treatment and came home before lunch. I started watching 爸爸去哪儿 after lunch and I find it to be more interesting and funnier compared to 爸爸回来了. Both are good but I think I like the former better.

I baked Banana Chiffon Cake yesterday evening after work as I had fully ripe bananas at home which I bought few days ago. They started to mold a little bit on the branch but all in all, they are still edible and making a cake out of them is the best and fastest way to clear them away. LOL!

Without further ado, let’s get started!

DSC07002

Banana Chiffon Cake (adapted from Anncoo Journal)

Ingredients:

  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 60ml cooking oil *corn oil*
  • 170g banana puree
  • 1/2 tsp banana essence, optional *omitted*
  • 50g fine granulated sugar *30g*
  • 110g plain flour *cake flour*
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 6 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 100g fine granulated sugar *80g*

Directions:

  1. Mix cake flour, salt and baking soda together. Set aside.
  2. Beat egg yolks with 30g of fine granulated sugar until pale and creamy.
  3. Add in corn oil followed by banana puree and combine well.
  4. Sift in flour mixture into the egg yolks batter and gently mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  5. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy and frothy.
  6. Gradually add in 80g of fine granulated sugar in three batches until stiff peaks are formed.
  7. Gently fold in 1/3 of the meringue into the egg yolks batter. Proceed the same with the remaining meringue until no white streak could be seen.
  8. Pour batter into an ungreased 22cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 45 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  9. Invert the chiffon pan immediately when removed from the oven and only remove the cake from baking pan when it has completely cooled.

DSC07004

I was extremely satisfied with the top of my chiffon cake when I removed it from the oven. It has no crack at all. It is quite hard for me to achieve no crack at all on top of a cake. But of course, it is okay to have cracks on a chiffon cake since it is to be served upside down anyways.

The fonts highlighted in red were the changes which I had made from the original recipe. The sweetness level was just perfect as I do not want an overly sweet Banana Chiffon Cake. I would usually reduce the sugar quantity from majority recipes. Reason being, both my parents aren’t huge fans of sweet desserts. The texture of the cake is soft and spongy but I think it would be better if I had bake the chiffon cake for another five minutes instead.

All in all, this is a good recipe and it is definitely a keeper for me!

Leave a Reply

