Baking #50: Cheddar Cheese Chiffon Cake (22cm)

I took a day off from work yesterday and went for my follow up appointment of my previous root canal treatment. I did not expect this procedure to be “slightly more” painful than the previous procedure. But thank goodness that a local anesthesia was injected into my gum so that it will be numb throughout the entire procedure.

The entire procedure took about an hour and a half. I went in around 2:45p.m. in the afternoon and only came out around 4:00p.m. in the afternoon. So, imagine having your mouth wide open throughout the entire procedure apart from the time whereby I had to go next block for an X-Ray. But all in all, I am glad that the entire procedure was completed albeit I am having a swollen cheek as I write. I had checked online and it is normal to have a swell after the procedure and it will be gone in a matter of days.

I was supposed to meet Ing after my treatment but she was running late and I couldn’t be sure how long I could hold up after being being anesthetized. The first time when I had this treatment, my arms and limbs all went weak hours later and there was nothing I could do apart from taking naps.

So, I decided to bake Cheddar Cheese Chiffon Cake a short while after I came home as I had already removed some eggs from the fridge to leave it for room temperature before leaving home.

DSC07011

Cheddar Cheese Chiffon Cake (adapted from Baking & Cooking)

Ingredients:

  • 120g full cream milk
  • 60ml unsalted butter
  • 6 slices Kraft cheddar cheese
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 70g fine granulated sugar *40g*
  • 150g cake flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 6 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 70g fine granulated sugar

Directions:

  1. Mix together cake flour, baking powder and baking soda. Set aside.
  2. Melt butter and cheddar cheese slices with full cream milk over a pot of simmering water. When completely melted, remove from heat and set aside to cool down.
  3. Beat eggs and 40g of fine granulated sugar for a minute or two until the egg yolks turned pale and creamy.
  4. Slowly add in the egg yolks batter into the melted cheddar cheese batter and whisk until well mixed.
  5. Sift in flour mixture and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  6. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy and frothy.
  7. Gradually add in 70g of fine granulated sugar in three batches until stiff peaks are formed.
  8. Gently fold in 1/3 of the meringue into the cheese batter and repeat the same with the remaining 2/3 of the meringue until no white streak could be seen.
  9. Pour the mixed batter into an ungreased 22cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for approximately 45 to 50 minutes until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  10. Invert the chiffon pan immediately when removed from the oven and only remove the cake from the chiffon cake when it has completely cooled down.

DSC07012

I am not extremely satisfied with the outcome of my Cheddar Cheese Chiffon Cake as I find the taste of cheddar cheese to be subtle. But according to Mom, the cake doesn’t taste sweet at all but slightly salty. It is completely understandable as cheddar cheese is originally salty in taste. But I find the texture of my chiffon bake this time round was slightly dry for my liking.

Leave a Reply

