Baking #53: Whole Wheat Honey Bread

As mentioned yesterday, I attempted Whole Wheat Honey Bread yesterday evening after I came home from grocery shopping. Intended to try out Onion Cheese Bread with the recipe provided in the manual booklet which I downloaded from the Internet. But unfortunately, the recipe required minced dried onion which I couldn’t find at Supa Save, Gadong. And I am not daring enough to use fresh ones as I am afraid that it will cause the dough not to rise well due to the moisture from the fresh onion.

So, I made do with the last available bag of Waitrose Strong Wholemeal Bread Flour which I bought and baked Whole Wheat Honey Bread. I like the flour variations offered at Supa Save, Gadong but they are not enough though. I thought they have gluten free bread flour but I don’t see any of them yesterday apart from the ready mix ones. Perhaps I should try Supa Save, Mabohai next time?

Without further ado, let me show you the final product of my Whole Wheat Honey Bread from yesterday evening.

DSC07050

DSC07053

Whole Wheat Honey Bread (adapted from Sanyo Bread Machine Manual)

If this is gonna be your first time attempting a whole wheat bread with your bread machine, don’t be surprised when the machine doesn’t start kneading instantly after you had pressed on the START button. I had read it somewhere that bread machine doesn’t start kneading instantly when using Whole Wheat setting. So when the bread machine doesn’t start kneading, I thought perhaps something went wrong with the machine again like how it was when I first brought it home.

So, I went to try Basic setting and it started kneading! Stopped the bread machine instantly and reset the bread machine to Whole Wheat setting. The time displayed for Whole Wheat setting is 3:30, which is equivalent to three and a half hours.

The difference between Basic and Whole Wheat setting is that the former starts the job instantly when pressed START but the latter only starts kneading job 30 minutes later after pressing START. Rather than doing the job instantly, the flour is supposed to REST in the bread pan inside the bread machine to dampen the flour mixture with the heat generated inside the bread machine. Now that you know the difference between Basic and Whole Wheat setting, please do not repeat the same mistake as I did.

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp water
  • 1/3 cup honey *Longan honey*
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp milk powder *Fernleaf Milk Powder*
  • 1.5 tbsp shortening
  • 1.5 tsp instant dry yeast

Directions:

  1. Measure all ingredients in advance with measuring cups and spoons.
  2. Remove the bread pan from the bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Place and pile up all the ingredients in the same order as above (water, honey, whole wheat flour, salt, milk powder, shortening and active dry yeast).
  4. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  5. Return bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  6. Choose setting (Whole Wheat) and press START.
  7. Wait for bread machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  8. Leave bread loaf to cool on a cooling rack prior to slicing.

DSC07057

So, this is how my Whole Wheat Honey Bread looked like when sliced. The crust was a little bit hard and darker in color compared to my previous Milk White Bread. It was quite hard to slice them up without having crumbs falling down. So, Dad cut them into thicker slices.

The bread is soft on the inside but a little bit denser compared to what I like. But I guess this is how wholemeal bread is supposed to be. Albeit I used Longan honey instead of the usual household honey, the taste of longan inside the honey is completely subtle. As honey is used, there is no need for sugar anymore.

DSC07058

Breakfast this morning, with jam …

Leave a Reply

