05122014 / Savy’s Brasserie, Mabohai

The weather did not look good hours before I am due to meet Kaylie for dinner at Piccolo Cafe. So, we cancelled the dinner meeting about an hour and half before the meeting time. Albeit the gloomy weather, I decided to go Yayasan after work as I needed to pay a visit to the bank’s ATM machine. Thankfully, it did not rain throughout the journey from workplace to Yayasan. Frankly speaking, it did not even rain throughout the time when I was outside but only started to drizzle as I was near home.

Did a little bit of grocery shopping at Hua Ho, Yayasan. Intended to have dinner at Kaizen Sushi Waterfront but decided not to since I might be having dinner with colleagues there next Tuesday. I don’t feel like going to the same place and having the same food in a matter of less than 7 days. So, I drove myself to Supa Save, Mabohai as I wanted to find out if they sell bread knife and I needed to buy some Paul’s natural plain yogurt for muffins.

I went into L’occitane yesterday evening to try out the perfume which I so wanted to buy previously but I left the shop empty handed. I decided to save up some bucks since I had gotten myself a free bottle of Elizabeth Arden Pretty the other day. Dinner was at Savy’s Brasserie since I was not into Misato Teppan Grill and I don’t wanna come out smelling like a human teriyaki (that’s if you get my dry humor). LOL!

If you have never heard of or been to Savy’s Brasserie in Brunei, let me give you a brief introduction of the restaurant. There are two Savy’s Brasserie in Brunei. The main branch is in town, located just above Nasi Katok Mama while the other branch is located on the second floor of Mabohai Shopping Complex, in between Toys ‘R’ Us and Misato Teppan Grill.

Savy’s Brasserie is pretty much of an high end western restaurant in Brunei. They serve decent pasta and steak. A colleague and a friend of mine once told me that Savy’s Brasserie serves good beef steak in Brunei but a little bit pricey. I had only tried their set menus and pastas previously.

DSC07061

Lamb Bolognese | B$22

And yes, I had their pasta again. I don’t remember seeing this Lamb Bolognese on their menu previously or maybe I glanced through the menu too quickly and missed it out the last time. Instead of beef, this pasta was cooked with lamb. They used one of my favorite pasta, which is the fettuccine and tossed in pomodoro sauce with minced lamb. The pasta came topped with feta cheese as well.

To be honest, I was not really impressed with what I had yesterday evening. I personally believed that the pasta was overcooked rather than al dente. The sauce was a wee bit too salty for my liking. It is an okay pasta dish but would very much preferred if the pasta was cooked al dente.

Here’s a good news to Standard Chartered Bank credit card holders! You are entitled to 15% off the total bill if you pay your bill with your SCB credit cards. I am not sure if it applies to set meals or other promotions but do ask before you order or make payment. I paid my bill with my SCB credit card and was given 15% off my total bill.

Savy’s Brasserie
Unit 204, Level 2,
Mabohai Shopping Complex,
Brunei Darussalam.
Tel: +673-2240829

Leave a Reply

