Baking #55: Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf

Good morning! Feeling kinda sleepy at the moment as I only managed to sleep at about 2:00a.m. in the morning. I drank black coffee some time before midnight. I was feeling sleepy but I just couldn’t sleep until 2:00a.m. in the morning. The main reason which I slept late wasn’t due to the black coffee which I drank at such late hours but I was waiting for my Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf to finish baking in the bread machine.

Waited till it was done baking so that I could dislodge it straightaway. It is not advisable to leave the bread loaf in the bread machine for too long after it was done baking lest you might get a soggy bread the next morning.

So, I found this recipe of Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf from Joy ‘N’ Escapade when I was browsing for bread loaf recipes with bread machine. She is using this Cornell Bread Master whereby it can house up to 2lb of bread loaf. Mine was only able to house up to about 1.5lb but I still managed to bake this Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf of 2lb.

DSC07113

Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf (adapted from Bread Daily)

This bread loaf rose a lot higher compared to my first bake of Milk White Bread with the same setting. Albeit it used the same quantity for bread flour, but it required more salt and yeast to make the bread. Hence the height.

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 cups water
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 0.25 cup dry milk powder *Fernleaf Milk Powder*
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp fine granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp instant dry yeast
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Measure all the ingredients in advance with measuring cups and spoons.
  2. Remove bread pan from the bread machine and install the collapsible paddle.
  3. Place and pile up the ingredients in the same order as above (water, butter, bread flour, dry milk powder, salt, sugar and active dry yeast).
  4. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  5. Return the bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  6. Choose setting (Basic – Normal) and press START.
  7. Pour shredded cheddar cheese into the bread pan after the first beep sounded (roughly 15 to 17 minutes after the kneading started).
  8. Wait for bread machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  9. Leave bread loaf to cool on a cooling rack before slicing.

DSC07116

The first thing Dad complained about my Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf when he first saw it after it was being dislodged was the color of the crust. It was even darker than my previous few bread loaves bake. But that was before he tried this bread loaf himself. So when he tried it this morning, he mentioned that it was only the color but the crust didn’t taste bitter at all albeit it looked burnt. But tad bit oily for a bread loaf.

My verdict on this Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf:

The texture of the bread was soft and fluffy but tad bit salty for my liking. I should have cut down on the amount of shredded cheddar cheese. It indeed smelled nice at the time of baking but you will find the smell sickening when the entire house was filled with the smell of baked cheddar cheese.

In order to neutralize the saltiness of the bread, I had kaya spread on them. Dad thought that the bread was a little bit sweet though. I wondered if it was his or my taste bud gone haywire?

I don’t mind reattempting this recipe again next time but I am thinking of reducing the amount of shredded cheddar cheese and substituting one of the cups of bread flour with wholemeal flour just like how Joy ‘N’ Escapade did. It sounds healthier and less sinful that way. LOL! Click here for the link to her version of Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf.

2 thoughts on “Baking #55: Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf

Leave a Reply

