Baking #56: Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake (Revisited)

So, I baked Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake and Cheddar Cheese Bread Loaf two nights ago. I didn’t exactly bake a bread but the bread machine did all the works for me. I hate the kneading process previously hence I did not do any bread making until Jennifer mom gave me her household bread machine couple of months ago. And I only started to using it for bread loaves few Sundays ago.

And now that I knew it yields soft and fluffy bread albeit the dark colored crust, my family and I had been eating home baked bread recently rather than the store bought ones. You can always set timer as to when you want your bread to be ready. You can dump all the ingredients into the bread pan and set timer for the bread to be baked overnight.

I had yet tried this feature but I am gonna try it soon as I am intending to bake Jennifer a Whole Wheat Honey Bread this Friday. I am gonna put in all ingredients before I leave for work, set the timer and the bread will be ready when I wanted it to be.

I baked Japanese Dark Pearl Chiffon Cake in the size of 22cm the other night. This chiffon cake used to be my virgin bake of chiffon cakes. But the first trial wasn’t as successful as compared to this attempt. The previous attempt was okay, soft and fluffy texture but the taste was so not my cup of tea. So, I tweaked the recipe here and there but managed to pull something which was quite near my cup of tea.

DSC07104

Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake (adapted from Bakericious)

I used a 21cm chiffon pan on my first attempt and the cake rose highly. As I used large sized eggs this time round, I switched the pan size to 22cm and it was still a bit small for the chiffon cake as the cake rose above the brim of the chiffon pan. But the cake top shrank a little bit when inverted so I guess it is still okay with a 22cm chiffon pan.

Ingredients:

  • 150g dark chocolate, chopped *50%*
  • 100g corn oil
  • 90ml water
  • 115g egg yolks *7 egg yolks*
  • 65g cake flour
  • 25g cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 225g egg whites *7 egg whites*
  • 100g fine granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar *1/2 tsp*

Directions:

  1. Mix cake flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.
  2. Melt chopped dark chocolate over a pot of hot water until smooth.
  3. Stir in corn oil followed by water. Whisk them lightly until they are well combined.
  4. Add in eggs one at a time and stir until well incorporated.
  5. Sift in the flour mixture and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  6. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until foamy and frothy.
  7. Gradually add in sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peaks.
  8. Gently fold in one third of the meringue into the chocolate batter and repeat the same with the remaining two thirds of the meringue until no white streak could be seen.
  9. Tap the bowl a few times on the worktop to get rid of the bubbles trapped inside the batter.
  10. Pour batter from a height into an ungreased 22cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 175 degree Celsius for 45 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  11. Invert cake immediately when removed from the oven for approximately two hours or until cool enough to be unmoulded.

DSC07111

So, this was how my Japanese Dark Pearl Chiffon Cake looked on the inside. It didn’t have much big holes as compared to some of my other chiffon cakes’ bake. The batter turned watery rather than airy after I had folded in the meringue.

According to the researches which I had made on this particular chiffon cake, it is normal to have a slightly watery batter as cocoa powder tends to deflate the batter easily. And therefore, you have to be quick but gentle at the same time. Albeit the watery batter, my chiffon cake still turned out well, soft and high.

The reason why I stated to pour in the batter from a height was because there are lots of air bubbles trapped inside the batter. Hence pouring from a height breaks the bubbles in the process. In comparison to my first attempt of Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake, I think I had improved. Click here if you wish to read on my first attempt.

2 thoughts on “Baking #56: Japanese Dark Pearl Chocolate Chiffon Cake (Revisited)

  1. I saw cinnamon from one of your baking posts. I am new to baking. Where do we get cinnamon powder? From any supermarket?
    I found a YouTube baking channel – domestic geek which seems interesting and easy.

    1. It depends.

      If you need cinnamon powder, you can get from LeApple Bakery & Mart.

      But if you need ground cinnamon, get it from Supa Save. But in between both, it’s better to get ground cinnamon instead of cinnamon powder.

      Ground cinnamon smelled nicer and tasted better with baking.

Leave a Reply

