Baking #57: Sweet Milk Buns

Intended to do two baking(s) today but I think I will pass and end with this Sweet Milk Buns. Feel kinda knackered right now and thinking of hitting the sack earlier after showering later. I had originally planned on baking Chocolate Marble Chiffon by Cooking Crave but I think that will have to wait for another day.

Ever since I had mastered bread loaves with my bread machine, I was tempted to try buns using the dough feature of the bread machine and bake them in the oven. So, here I am now with the Sweet Milk Buns which I baked just before dinner.

DSC07143

Sweet Milk Buns (adapted from My Mind Patch)

There was a little mishap with these buns before I sent them into the oven for baking. I accidentally sifted too much flour on top of them. Hence the appearance of too many flour on those buns. I think I will give those flour topping a miss the next time I attempt this recipe again.

I made the dough with the dough feature in my bread machine. So, I am gonna list the ingredients in sequence of how I placed and piled them into the baking pan of my bread machine.

Ingredients:

  • 150g full cream milk
  • 20g sweetened condensed milk
  • 25g beaten egg
  • 30g unsalted butter, softened
  • 225 bread flour
  • 25g top/cake flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 40g fine granulated sugar
  • 3/4 tsp instant dry yeast

Directions: 

  1. Measure all the ingredients in advance.
  2. Remove bread pan from the bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Place and pile up all ingredients in the same order as above (milk, sweetened condensed milk, egg, butter, flour, salt, sugar and yeast).
  4. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  5. Return the bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  6. Choose setting (Dough) and press START.
  7. Wait for machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  8. Sprinkle some bread flour on top of the proofed dough.
  9. Sprinkle some flour onto worktop and remove the dough from the bread pan onto the floured worktop.
  10. Press down the dough to release the air trapped inside.
  11. Leave it to rest for 10 minutes.
  12. Divide the dough equally into 9 portions and roll up individual dough and shape them into balls.
  13. Place the ball shaped dough into a 18cmx18cm baking pan.
  14. Spray some water and let the dough do the final proofing in a closed oven (without power switched on) for about 40 minutes or when the dough almost reached the brim of the baking pan.
  15. Remove the dough from the oven and preheat the oven to 180 degree Celsius for 10 minutes.
  16. Sift some flour onto the buns.
  17. Lower down the oven temperature to 160 degree Celsius once the dough were in the oven and bake for 10 minutes.
  18. Reduce the temperature to 150 degree Celsius and bake for another 10 to 12 minutes, or till the top were browned slightly.
  19. Remove baking pan from oven when baked and transfer the buns onto cooling rack to cool immediately.

Wow! That was a super duper long list of directions of how to make these Sweet Milk Buns. But don’t worry, they are definitely worth all the hassles and this recipe is definitely a keeper. I am definitely gonna make them again next time but omitting sifting flour onto the buns. Perhaps egg wash next time?

DSC07149

So, this was how my Sweet Milk Buns looked like when I tore a piece out. I had tried one of them over dinner and it was really good. Super soft and fluffy texture. Dad mentioned that it was well done but would have been better if left in the oven for another minute or two. And tad bit sweet for him. I agreed with him on the sweet part so I will be lowering the sugar quantity next time.

Leave a Reply

