Baking #58: Mocha Chiffon Cake

It was Kaylie’s 24th birthday yesterday and we were thinking of celebrating it at Danes Cafe tonight. I am not a big fan of huge birthday celebration or whatsoever. Just dinner together and maybe dessert after dinner, and that’s a done deal.

I had actually thought about requesting the staff of Danes Cafe to bring out the Mocha Chiffon Cake which I baked yesterday for her and sing her birthday song after our main course. But I decided not to do that anymore as I wasn’t careful enough when unmoulding the cake hence it ended up with a torn side.

As I do not know what to buy her as gift and I suck at this area nowadays, I decided to ask her to take a pick on which cake she wanted me to bake for her. She chose brownies at first but I told her that I am not so good with brownies yet. With her being a super huge fan of coffee desserts and beverages, I decided to try my luck and asked her if she wants a Mocha Chiffon Cake. And bingo, she said yes!

DSC07152

Mocha Chiffon Cake (adapted from Singapore Home Cooks by Yvonne Mah)

I had actually seen this bake from Yvonne Mah personal Instagram page but I couldn’t find her recipe until I found Singapore Home Cooks blog when I was searching for some other recipes. Singapore Home Cooks is a platform whereby it archives all recipes shared on Singapore Home Cooks Facebook page. And this recipe of Mocha Chiffon Cake was one of them!

Ingredients:

  • 120ml coffee mixture (a packet of 3 in 1 Nescafe, 1.5 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder and hot water)
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 30g fine granulated sugar
  • 60g corn oil
  • 120g cake flour
  • 7 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 80g fine granulated sugar

Directions:

  1. Mix a packet of 3 in 1 Nescafe and unsweetened cocoa powder with hot water. Stir until fully dissolved and set aside to cool down.
  2. Beat egg yolks with 30g of sugar together until pale and doubled in size.
  3. Pour in coffee mixture followed by corn oil and mix well.
  4. Sift in cake flour and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  5. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it turns foamy and frothy.
  6. Gradually add in 80g of sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peaks.
  7. Gently fold in one third of the meringue into the coffee batter and repeat the same with the remaining two thirds of the meringue until no white streak could be seen.
  8. Give the bowl a few taps on the worktop to break the air bubbles trapped inside the batter.
  9. Pour batter from a height into an ungreased 22cm/23cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 50 to 60 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  10. Invert the cake immediately when removed from the oven or until cool enough to be unmoulded.

There is no picture of how the chiffon cake looked like on the inside since I am giving the entire cake away as a birthday gift to Kaylie. But I personally believed that the cake might be a little bit sweet as I had tried a little bit of the torn parts.

Coffee taste wasn’t subtle but it wasn’t strong either. All in all, I think it is an okay tasting cake. The only way we can find out is when the birthday girl herself has a try on the cake.

Leave a Reply

