Baking #59: Old Fashion Pull Apart Butter Rolls

I did not do much today apart from buns baking. I went out this morning for breakfast with Kaylie and Si Yieng at Phong Mun Restaurant. I went stationary and grocery shopping after breakfast. Did not buy much but two packets of bread flour. I had been buying bread flour more than cake flour lately.

Speaking of which, I still have two tubs of natural plain yogurt which I have yet use and they are about to expire soon. I guess I need to bake muffins with them soon before they go into the bin. Anyways, I am waiting for my second dough to be ready as I am writing this.

I am reattempting Sweet Milk Raisins Buns again after the unsuccessful attempt few nights ago. It bloomed alright but they were out of shape. They looked hideous. So, the “kiasu” me would never live to myself being unsuccessful with that recipe.

But anyways, I will be sharing with you a recipe which I found from GUAI SHU SHU‘s blog last week. It was a straightforward recipe without complicated ingredient which you can’t find in your kitchen. Instead of using bread flour, this recipe called for plain flour. And therefore, it intrigued me to try out this recipe. I was curious to know how would the texture of the buns be with plain flour instead of bread flour.

Without further ado, let me show you my final product!

DSC07177

Old Fashion Pull Apart Butter Rolls (adapted from GUAI SHU SHU)

Ingredients:

  • 265g full cream milk, lukewarm *room temperature*
  • 50g unsalted butter, softened
  • 400g plain flour
  • 20g corn/potato flour *white corn flour*
  • 20g milk powder
  • 50g sugar
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 6g instant dry yeast
  • 20g unsalted butter, melted for glazing

Note: I am using a bread machine for dough kneading rather than hand knead or using a stand mixer. So, my direction guidelines will be based on how I make them with my bread machine. If you are using a mixer, please go to the original recipe with the link above for detailed descriptions and illustrations.

Directions:

  1. Measure and weigh all the ingredients in advance.
  2. Remove bread pan from the bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Place and pile up all ingredients in the same order as above (milk, butter, plain flour, corn flour, milk powder, sugar, salt, and yeast). Do make sure that the salt do not directly touch the yeast.
  4. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  5. Return the bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  6. Choose setting (Dough) and press START.
  7. Wait for machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  8. Sprinkle some bread flour on top of the proofed dough.
  9. Sprinkle some flour onto worktop and remove the dough from the bread pan onto the floured worktop.
  10. Press down the dough to release the air trapped inside and leave it to rest for 10 minutes.
  11. Divide the dough equally into 18 pieces of approximately 50 grams each and shape them into balls.
  12. Place the ball shaped dough into a greased and lined 9″ round baking pan.
  13. Let the dough do the final proofing in a closed oven (without power switched on) for about 40 minutes.
  14. Remove the dough from the oven and preheat the oven to 180 degree Celsius for 10 minutes.
  15. Bake the proofed dough for approximately 20 to 25 minutes or until the tops were browned enough.
  16. Remove baking pan from oven when baked and transfer the rolls onto cooling rack to cool immediately.
  17. Glaze the rolls with melted butter while they are still hot.

DSC07183

I had a few bites of my Old Fashion Pull Apart Butter Rolls after dinner and I was extremely pleased with the outcome of these rolls. They were soft and fluffy. And it even have the pull apart streaky texture! The butter taste was not strong in the soft bread but on the top after they were glazed. These rolls were definitely good to be eaten when warm but they were still good when cool. I left a few pieces of these rolls at home for my parents and bringing the remaining to workplace tomorrow to share with my colleagues.

If you are into plain buttery rolls, why not give this recipe a try? I am sure you won’t be disappointed. At least, I am not! xD

Leave a Reply

