Baking #60: Sweet Milk Raisin Buns

As I brought more than half of my Old Fashion Pull Apart Butter Rolls to workplace for my colleagues this morning, I did not have much left at home for my parents. Hence, I baked Sweet Milk Raisin Buns after dinner. I attempted this recipe few evenings ago but they did not turn out well enough. Texture wise, the buns were soft and fluffy but they looked hideous!

Rather than dividing the dough equally with a dough cutter, I decided to tear them apart and weigh them on a scale. That way I will get equal dough. At least their shapes and weigh would not go out of proportion. And I got almost equally shaped Sweet Milk Raisin Buns when they were baked.

If you are wondering if I created this recipe on my own, I did not. I adapted the recipe of Sweet Milk Buns from My Mind Patch and added raisin while shaping the individual dough.

DSC07190

Sweet Milk Raisin Buns (adapted from My Mind Patch)

Ingredients: 

  • 150g full cream milk
  • 20g sweetened condensed milk
  • 25g beaten egg
  • 30g unsalted butter, softened
  • 225g bread flour
  • 25g top/cake flour
  • 20g milk powder
  • 40g granulated white sugar *30g*
  • 1/4 tsp instant dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup raisin
  • additional melted butter for glazing

Directions:

  1. Measure and weigh all ingredients in advance.
  2. Remove bread pan from the bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Place and pile up all ingredients in the same order as above (milk, sweetened condensed milk, egg, butter, flour, milk powder, salt, sugar and yeast).
  4. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  5. Return the bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  6. Choose setting (Dough) and press START.
  7. Wait for machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  8. Sprinkle some bread flour on top of the proofed dough.
  9. Sprinkle some flour onto worktop and remove the dough from the bread pan onto the floured worktop.
  10. Press down the dough to release the air trapped inside.
  11. Leave it to rest for 10 minutes.
  12. Divide the dough equally into 9 portions and each weighs approximately 50 grams or so.
  13. Flatten up each individual dough with a rolling pan and sprinkle desired amount of raisin on top and roll them up. Shape the dough into balls.
  14. Place the ball shaped dough into a greased and lined 18cmx18cm baking pan.
  15. Let the dough do the final proofing in a closed oven (without power switched on) for about 40 minutes or when the dough doubled in size.
  16. Remove the dough from the oven and preheat the oven to 180 degree Celsius for 10 minutes.
  17. Bake the proofed dough for approximately 20 to 25 minutes or until the top were browned.
  18. Remove baking pan from oven when baked and transfer the buns onto cooling rack to cool immediately.
  19. Glaze the buns with melted butter while they are still hot.

DSC07194

I was pleased that my buns rose quite evenly this time round. I had added in too much raisin in some of the dough and I am sure that Dad will complain that these buns being overly sweet. Texture wise, they were soft and fluffy. But these buns turned a little bit hard on the top and sides this morning.

I should have stored them inside a zip lock back right after they had cooled down yesterday evening. But all in all, these buns are nice for both breakfast and tea time along with a cup of hot coffee.

DSC07193

One final picture of my Sweet Milk Raisin Buns …

Leave a Reply

