Baking #62: Gluten Free White Bread Loaf

I finally got the gluten free bread flours which Jennifer’s mom promised to give me to try after her unsuccessful attempts with her own bread machine. Much to my surprise, she gave me two bags of the gluten free bread flours – white and brown. With Sister being wheat intolerant, she asked me to give the recipe a try so that she can have some. So, I made her a loaf of this Gluten Free White Bread Loaf with the recipe printed on the packaging.

DSC07244

Doves Farm Gluten Free White Bread Flour Blend

According to Jennifer’s mom, she followed the recipe exactly as printed on the packaging but her dough did not rise at all even after all cycles had completed. When my ingredients were kneading in the bread machine, I thought I am gonna have a failed dough too as the dough looked different compared to when kneading with normal bread flour. The dough seems to be more like a paste than a dough.

But thankfully, I think I succeeded my Gluten Free White Bread Loaf albeit the crater lookalike top. LOL!

DSC07247

Gluten Free White Bread Loaf (adapted from Doves Farm)

Ingredients:

  • 310g full cream milk
  • 1 tsp vinegar *white vinegar*
  • 6 tbsp oil *84g corn oil*
  • 2 eggs
  • 450g Doves Farm Gluten Free White Bread Flour Blend
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp fine granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp instant dry yeast

Directions:

  1. Measure and weigh all ingredients in advance.
  2. Remove bread pan from the bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Whisk milk, vinegar, oil and eggs together until they are well incorporated.
  4. Pour in the liquid mixture into the bread pan followed by flour, salt, sugar and yeast. Make sure that the yeast do not get in contact with the salt directly.
  5. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  6. Return the bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  7. Choose setting (Basic – Normal) and press START.
  8. Wait for machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  9. Leave bread loaf to cool on a cooling rack prior to slicing.

DSC07252

So, this was how my Gluten Free White Bread Loaf looked like when sliced. There were more holes compared to normal bread. I did not try the texture of the bread myself but Sister did. According to her, texture and taste are exactly like how a gluten free bread supposed to be.

She brought at least 3/4 of the bread loaf with her back to Shanghai as no one in the family other than herself eats gluten free products. I am a wheat intolerant person but I still do consume wheat. LOL!

PS: Remember not to use gluten free setting on your bread machine albeit this is a gluten free bread. It may not yield the desired result.

Leave a Reply

