Baking #65: Banana Sour Cream Cake

Mom went back Kuching this morning for a family affair. And as usual, I would bake a cake for her to bring back for grandma and youngest aunt. I had intended to bake a different recipe of Banana Chiffon Cake but Mom told me not to as I would have to wake up in early dawn just to dislodge the cake from the chiffon pan.

With the leftover bananas that I had from the other day of baking Gula Melaka Banana Cupcakes with Walnuts, I baked Banana Sour Cream Cake yesterday evening after work with the recipe adapted from Minty’s Kitchen.

DSC07320

Banana Sour Cream Cake (adapted from Minty’s Kitchen)

Ingredients: 

  • 240g self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 170g unsalted butter, softened
  • 120g caster sugar *80g*
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 180g eggs *3 large eggs*
  • zest of one large orange *omitted*
  • 1/2 cup sour cream *114g*
  • 1 cup mashed banana *225g*
  • 20g coarsely chopped walnuts *omitted*
  • extra walnuts halves for topping *omitted*

Directions:

  1. Mix together self-raising flour, baking soda and salt together. Set aside.
  2. Cream butter with sugar until light and fluffy.
  3. Add in one egg at a time, beating well after each addition.
  4. Add in mashed banana and mix well.
  5. Sift and fold in flour mixture, alternating with sour cream and ending with flour mixture.
  6. Pour mixed batter into a greased and lined 20cm baking pan and bake in a preheated oven of 160 degree Celsius for 55 minutes until cooked, or until the cake leaves the side of the baking pan.
  7. Leave the cake to cool on a cooling rack prior to slicing.

DSC07323

So, this was how my Banana Sour Cream Cake looked on the inside. Instead of using a 20cm baking pan, I used a 19cm baking pan, which is equivalent to 7″. My cake was a lot thicker as I used a smaller baking pan. It took me about 65 minutes to bake this cake. I find the base to be rather undercooked in my opinion but Mom said it was well cooked.

Taste wise, it was great. The sour cream made the cake moist and soft. To be honest, I find sour cream taste exactly like yogurt. The only difference between both is that the former has a creamy and milky texture while the latter is more liquid. The original recipe called for 120g of sugar but I further reduced it down by 40g and ended up with 80g only. I used Pisang Berangan for this cake. Pisang Berangan are usually sweet when they are fully ripe. But if you like a sweet cake, you should stick to the original recipe.

All in all, this is a great recipe and I will definitely bake one again next time. But I will consider baking them as cupcakes/muffins next time. I prefer baking cupcakes/muffins as they are easier to be shared albeit the hassles it took in baking them as I have a small oven. My muffin tray can only accommodates six at a time.

Leave a Reply

