Baking #67: Buttermilk Blueberry Muffins

I can’t believe that I stayed in a salon for half a day just for a hair rebonding treatment. I went IA Salon this time round as my hair was pretty damaged from the previous rebonding done at another salon. Don’t wanna reveal which salon here as what didn’t work for me doesn’t necessarily mean it won’t work on others too. Albeit the price at IA Salon was double or triple compared to what I had been paying previously but the outcome/result was a lot satisfying.

I used to go IA Salon for Frances when I was still working at The Mall but not so often anymore after I had relocated. Kaylie just had her hair colored few weeks ago prior to her wedding shooting. She had Frances too and paid B$120, which I find reasonable as she also paid almost the same amount for the same hair length at the previous salon.

I was 20 minutes late for my appointment as my breakfast came pretty slow at Cheezbox Cafe & Restaurant. I went IA Salon ten minutes before eleven in the morning and came out almost four in the afternoon for late lunch. LOL! But you will be served some light snacks in between the treatment.

Anyways, I will be updating about my latest baking attempt on Buttermilk Blueberry Muffins. I made them last Sunday but never gotten round to update them until today. Kinda been lazy in updating this blog of mine but I will try my best to update as much as possible especially on skincare products as I realized that I had been doing it less lately.

DSC07382

Buttermilk Blueberry Muffins (adapted from Minty’s Kitchen)

I had always wanted to make these but it is quite hard to find good blueberries nowadays. They are usually expensive and hard to maintain freshness. I got these blueberries as I intended to bake Blueberry Yogurt Muffins for my youngest aunt couple of weeks ago. But I couldn’t find any blueberry yogurt when I needed it. So, I made do with buttermilk instead.

But my muffins were a disappointment in terms of the appearance. They looked holey on the top whereas the ones from Minty’s Kitchen looked very smooth. Taste wise, they were good and moist. These muffins were less sinful as they were made out of vegetable oil instead of butter.

DSC07385

A close up look of my Buttermilk Blueberry Muffins!

Ingredients:

  • 325g plain flour
  • 150g caster sugar *100g*
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 125g fresh blueberries
  • zest of one orange *omitted*
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 120ml canola oil *corn oil*
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Ingredients:

  1. Mix together plain flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt. Gently fold in fresh blueberries and set aside.
  2. In a clean bowl, whisk together orange zest, egg, buttermilk, corn oil and vanilla essence.
  3. Make a hole in the centre of the flour mixture and pour in the wet ingredients and stir until the ingredients were well combined but not overmix.
  4. Using an ice-cream scoop, fill each cupcake liners almost full with batter.
  5. Bake them in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for 180 degree Celsius for 20 to 25 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean in the centre of a muffin.
  6. Leave the muffins in the muffin tray for about 10 minutes before removing them for cooling on a wire rack.

DSC07387

This was how my Buttermilk Blueberry Muffins looked on the inside when taken a bite. The blueberries softened under the extreme heat when baked in the oven. The sweetness level of the muffins were just right as I had reduced the sugar quantity. The muffins were soft and moist in my opinion but Mom said they were too dry for her liking. Perhaps I should try using cake flour instead of plain flour next time.

I baked these muffins at 190 degree Celsius for the second batch as the muffins did not brown even after 20 minutes into baking with 180 degree Celsius. So, do adjust the temperature accordingly when you bake them.

Leave a Reply

