Review: Shiseido Senka Perfect Liquid

OMG! It feels so long ago the last time I reviewed on a skincare product. To be honest, I had previously drafted a few posts on skincare products but they always didn’t make it to the end. It was like I ran out of ideas to write in the middle of the blog entry. Hence, they never show up in this blog.

But anyways, I am back here today with a skincare product blog entry instead of the usual food or baking topics. This is probably the longest break that I took from baking. I couldn’t seem to summon the energy to bake after coming back home from work or even on a day off. But I am thinking of baking cookies since Chinese New Year is just around the corner. I intended to try baking this Cornflakes Cookies which I used to have at Jia‘s place back when I was still a kid but I wonder if she has the recipe.

Okay … Let us get back to business, shall we?

DSC06595

Shiseido Senka Perfect Liquid

If you had read about my previous blog entries, you would have known that I managed to get myself quite a haul on skincare products on my last Shanghai trip in September. I think I went rather crazy in getting skincare products back then and now I stopped on getting extras apart from my skincare necessities. I did not even buy any skincare product the last time I went Miri.

Senka range is actually the cheaper version of Shiseido. Shiseido Senka can be found in major Guardian across West Malaysia and maybe both Guardian and Watsons in Singapore. The first Shiseido Senka product which I got was from Guardian Malaysia, if I am not mistaken. I did not get it myself but a friend got it for me when he went KL few years back.

This product is a liquid based makeup remover and therefore it is not greasy like oil based makeup remover. The texture of this Shiseido Senka Perfect Liquid is like Shiseido AquaLabel Cleansing Liquid which I had reviewed few months ago. It has a thicker consistency compared to normal cleansing oils and it reeks of alcohol to me. You would not pick up the alcohol scent when pouring out the liquid but only when you are massaging the liquid on your skin.

I would say the product works well enough in terms of effectiveness. It cleanses my skin well without stripping skin moisture and leaving it smooth after rinsing off the liquid. I couldn’t vouch how well the product works on a heavily made up face though. I personally find liquid based makeup remover do not emulsify as much as oil based makeup remover.

So, here’s what I think of Shiseido Senka Perfect Liquid in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Cleanses skin well enough.
2. Leaving skin soft and smooth after rinsing off the liquid.
3. Doesn’t dry up the skin.

Cons:
1. Reeks of alcohol.

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Price: RMB68

Repurchase? No

Leave a Reply

