08032015 / Peppermint Cafe, Brunei

Hello there! It’s been a while since I had last blogged properly. I will be on a 11 days holiday starting from the day after tomorrow. Hopefully, I will be able to get some blog entries sorted out and have them on scheduled posting while I am away. I will try to update as much as I could when I am in Shanghai as that is only where I could have access to apps blocked in China.

Anyways, I had my day off last Sunday after two hectic weeks. I was pretty much sleep deprived for the past two weeks and I ended up having a migraine a while after I woke up. Woke up to Mom asking me what time is Sister arriving from Bali. Her flight is due to arrive at 9:30a.m. in the morning and I am still in bed at 8:30a.m. in the morning. Took a shower and headed to the airport at around 9:30a.m. with Sister waiting for me at the Arrival Hall. Her flight arrived early by 20 minutes.

Ever since my first visit to Peppermint Cafe with Mike and Clara, I had been hoping that I could revisit the place to try their breakfast menu. I wanted to try their Black Charcoal Sandwich and French Toast with Caramelized Bananas. I did not get to try their Black Charcoal Sandwich as the waiter told me that they ran out of Black Charcoal Bread. And I had French Toast with Caramelized Apples instead of bananas as they ran out of bananas as well.

DSC07564

Garlic Bread | B$2.00

Instead of toasting the bread in the oven, they heated up the bread with the microwave. That way you will get a soft warm bread instead of a thick crusty bread. The Garlic Bread was not bad but nothing special to rave about though.

DSC07572

French Toast with Caramelized Apples | B$5.50

I ordered for French Toast with Caramelized Bananas but they were out of bananas. So, the waiter asked if I mind having caramelized apples instead of bananas. Why not? Caramelized apples sound great. To be honest, I think caramelized apples sound better than caramelized bananas. LOL!

The apple chunks were caramelized to perfection. They were soft and slightly crunchy at the same time and seasoned with moderate portion of ground cinnamon. The french toast were good too. Perfectly done and not soggy at all. According to the chef, this dish is not on their menu yet as they are still on experimenting stage with but it will be on the menu soon.

DSC07568

Omelette | B$6.00

Can’t remember what this is called but I knew it was Omelette something. LOL! This was what Sister had for breakfast the other day. I did not remember her saying much about this particular dish but she wondered why it was not Lurpak butter they served but Anchor butter. Well, it is not common to have cafes in Brunei serving Lurpak butter.

Peppermint Cafe
Unit 14, Block A,
Ground Floor,
Simpang: 493, Beribi,
Gadong,
Negara Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-8221888

One thought on “08032015 / Peppermint Cafe, Brunei

Leave a Reply

