Day 1/11 – BWN=>HKG=>TPE

It has been nearly a week since I came home from my holiday. To be honest, I don’t feel like blogging as much as I did before. Albeit I had quite a lot of topics to blog about recently, the mood to pen them down is not as strong as before. But I will try to write as much as I could today as I had already sorted out some of the pictures taken in Taiwan. The pictures were not much but they will do for the time being.

To be honest, there aren’t much options that you could choose from for traveling to Taiwan from Brunei. You could always choose to travel with AirAsia, transiting in either Kuala Lumpur (KL) or Kota Kinabalu (KK). Both transit points require you to stay the night, if I am not mistaken. You could also fly with Singapore Airlines, transiting in Singapore or Malaysia Airlines, transiting in either KL or KK as well but the fare price is horrendous.

For my case, I did not choose any of the above. I chose to fly with Royal Brunei Airlines into Hong Kong, stayed for a couple of hours inside the airport and then took the evening flight into Taipei via Eva Air. I bought multi destinations ticket as I am flying back to Brunei via Shanghai instead of Hong Kong. I flew back to Shanghai via China Eastern Airlines from Taipei.

DSC07631

To be comfortable on board, I wore a pair of CROCS shoes which I bought from Shanghai last September and a fitting trouser so that I stay warm. As the airport was currently under major renovation, Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf wasn’t in service on the day when I departed.

DSC07635

Here’s a selfie to mark the start of my 11 days holiday. Woohoo!

The flight from Brunei to Hong Kong wasn’t a full one as I could have the seating next to me all to myself. The journey from Brunei to Hong Kong was a smooth one and we landed on time. The queue at the Immigration checkpoints was about few hundreds meters long. Thankfully, it only took about 10 minutes before it was my turn. Luggage was already on the conveyor belt when I came out after immigration clearance.

I stayed in the arrival terminal for about two to three hours before I checked in for my next destination. Bought a couple of items from Mannings and even had an early dinner at Café de Cora for their Roasted Goose!

DSC07653

I couldn’t remember how much this was but I remembered that I ordered in set. It comes with this meat platter, blanched lettuce, rice and coffee. The meat platter was good but the blanched lettuce was so so. The peanuts underneath the meat were good though. Headed straight into the departure hall after dinner to start my shopping spree. I wanted to get some skincare products as I heard Hong Kong is one of the cheapest countries for skincare products.

In the end, I realized that the claim wasn’t exactly true as it depends on which brand you are buying. Elizabeth Arden is definitely not cheap in Hong Kong. I think it is cheaper in Malaysia especially if you can get staff price discount. I went into a couple of designer shops but came out empty handed as I don’t feel like splurging so much on the first day but I bought two items from agnès b.

DSC07657

To be honest, I am not a huge fan of agnès b but it was the design of the bag which caught my attention. The design was kinda alike the Prada bag which I had been eyeing for years. I bought a bag and a key pouch from agnès b. Splurged nearly B$500 on those two items. Thankfully, Sister did not complain about my purchases. Surprisingly enough, the bag that I bought was the one that she liked from agnès b too!

DSC07669

Another selfie again after arriving Taipei. xD

Sister’s flight from Shanghai to Taipei did not land on time as the plane hoovered in the air for half an hour before it landed. So, I waited for her for about an hour before she came out from the arrival terminal.

DSC07659

Welcome to Taiwan!

DSC07666

The temperature outside on the first night when we arrived Taipei. This picture was taken at the airport while waiting for Sister to arrive. What I love about airports in Taiwan and Hong Kong is the free wifi across the terminals! That way, you won’t feel bored while waiting for your traveling partner(s) to arrive!

DSC07661

I think this is a shop selling IMEI products. A taxi driver approached me when I was wandering around the terminal. I rejected him politely and he even said thank you before walking away. Taiwanese people are just so courteous! You don’t have to worry about getting lost in Taipei as the people there are generally friendly and willing to help.

DSC07664

I had been wondering what this is. A weighing machine?

More to come soon … Stay tune!

Leave a Reply

