Baking #70: Mixed Berries Yogurt Pound Cake

It had been nearly two months since I last baked. So, I decided to bake yesterday evening after dinner as there were a lot of eggs left in the fridge. These were the eggs which Dad bought for me on his last visit to the chicken farm. I did not get to use them as he bought them on the week when I am due to fly off to Taipei.

The fastest way to use up eggs is by baking chiffon cakes. One 8″ chiffon cake will use up about 7 eggs. The larger the pan size, the more eggs that it will require. So, I am gonna attempt Coffee Marble Chiffon Cake tonight by DessertzHouse for Guan Yin Dan tomorrow.

Without further ado, let me show you what I baked yesterday evening – Mixed Berries Yogurt Pound Cake! This is a recipe shared by DessertzHouse on her blog more than a week ago. Seeing that I still have a stick of unsalted butter in the fridge, I decided to attempt this before Coffee Marble Chiffon Cake.

DSC08244

Mixed Berries Yogurt Pound Cake (adapted from DessertzHouse)

I went to LeApple Bakery Mart for this loaf tin before heading home yesterday afternoon. With this loaf tin, I can use it for both pound cakes and bread. And best of all, it is a non-stick baking tin which I do not need line it with parchment paper but wiping the sides with some butter before baking will do the trick. The cake will dislodge nicely from the tin when flipped over.

Ingredients:

  • 160g unsalted butter, softened
  • 200g fine granulated sugar *150g*
  • 4 eggs
  • 130g natural plain yogurt
  • 200g cake flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 160g frozen mixed berries

Directions:

  1. Mix both cake flour and baking powder together. Set aside.
  2. Cream butter and sugar together until they are soft and pale yellow in color.
  3. Add in eggs one at a time and beat well after each addition to avoid curdling.
  4. Sift in the flour mixture into the butter mixture, leaving at least a tablespoon of flour mixture for later use.
  5. Add in natural plain yogurt and stir well.
  6. Mix the tablespoon of flour mixture with the frozen mixed berries and gently fold them into the batter.
  7. Pour batter into a greased or lined 22cm baking tin and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for approximately 50 to 55 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  8. Leave the cake to cool on a cooling rack before serving.

DSC08250

This was how my Mixed Berries Yogurt Pound Cake looked like when sliced. My cake was darker in color as I did not control the temperature well enough. I should have covered the cake with a piece of aluminium foil when it started to brown. The cake was still soft the next morning but do make sure that they are stored in an airtight container to prevent the cake from losing moisture.

If you are not a huge fan of sour fruits, I would suggest you follow the original recipe in terms of the sugar quantity. I would suggest omitting both strawberries and blackberries if you are attempting this recipe as both fruits are extremely sour and they make the areas around them soggy. I would definitely reattempt this recipe again next time but of my own rendition.

Leave a Reply

