04052015 / V’s Cafe & Restaurant

Finally got to try V’s Cafe & Restaurant after I saw their Pot Plant desserts on Kaylie’s Instagram for the first time. I took a day off today as I needed to collect my new debit card from the bank. Given that I still have extra time to kill before I meet Jia for lunch, I decided to drop by V’s Cafe & Restaurant since it was just within walking distance from HSBC Gadong.

If you are wondering where V’s Cafe & Restaurant is located, it is located on the same block as the 24 hours mini mart – C7 in Gadong. The reason why I never got to try the place earlier was because it is not in business on Sunday. They are only open on Monday to Saturday from 8:30a.m. in the morning until 6:30p.m. in the evening.

DSC08388

The cafe is a lot smaller than what I had in mind before visiting. The cafe is only able to accommodate three small tables and about 5 chairs. Beside these dining tables is this wall whereby patrons will write their comments on the cute sticker notes and stick them onto the wall. There were also some Polaroid photographs of their patrons on the wall.

DSC08390

With this picture, you can fairly guess and estimate the size of the cafe. The place where I sat was only a few feet from the entrance. I like the designs of their lightning bulbs but unfortunately, I do not have any picture of them. The bulbs were fitted into balloon whisks! How cool00 is that?

DSC08391

They have a sandwich bar. The concept is pretty much the same like the famous sandwich franchise – Subway. Couldn’t be sure how much is their sandwich but I think it was slightly more expensive compared to Eileen’s Sandwich Shoppe Cafe at Citis Square.

DSC08394

Plant Cake Deluxe Red Velvet | B$9.80

So, this was what I had. Red Velvet Cake serves with Vanilla ice-cream in a pot, topped with crushed brownies as soil and colorful macaroons. At the very bottom of the pot was a huge chunk of Red Velvet layered sponge cake. The sponge cake was soft, fluffy and the sweetness was just perfect.

And then there was ice-cream in which you could choose your own preferred flavor. I chose Vanilla as I preferred it over Chocolate and another flavor which I could not remember. Gosh! What is going on with my memory nowadays?

The dessert was finished off with a layer of crushed brownies, colorful macaroons and fresh flower. I love the macaroons as they have a chewy texture. So, if you are a huge fan of macaroons, you could always try the ones at V’s Cafe & Restaurant.

Verdict: I like the idea of a dessert in a plant pot. The ingredients and toppings complimented each other well. However, I do find B$9.80 to be way overpriced. I am expecting somewhere in between like B$5.50 to B$6.90 but definitely not B$9.80. So, imagine my surprise when I saw the bill amount on the till. Even Kaylie mentioned that the price is way too steep.

V’s Cafe & Restaurant
No: 1158, Ground Floor,
Bangunan Kambang Pasang,
Jalan Gadong,
Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2443168

Leave a Reply

