Baking #84: Blueberry Crumble Muffins

Just came back from my 4D3N holiday to Kuching yesterday afternoon. Went back to visit my grandmother and also attended a wedding dinner of one of my cousins. Decided to take an extra day off after coming back as I find it rather hard to work straight after coming back from holiday.

Jia and Eldie invited me out tonight in celebration of my belated birthday. We are going to TK Restaurant tonight for some western food. I am not sure what they serve at TK Restaurant as I had never been there. But no worry, we shall know tonight. LOL!

I baked Blueberry Crumble Muffins this afternoon since I did not plan to go out during the day apart from meeting Jia and Eldie tonight. I combined two recipes and came up with this Blueberry Crumble Muffins.

DSC08851

Blueberry Crumble Muffins (adapted from Bear Naked Food & ZaTaYa Yummy)

Ingredients:
240g all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk *full cream milk*
115g unsalted butter, softened
140g fine granulated sugar *120g*
2 cups fresh blueberries *200g frozen blueberries*

Crumble topping
90g unsalted butter, melted
125g all purpose flour
125g packed light brown sugar

Directions:
To make crumble topping, rub in melted butter with all purpose flour and sugar together. Set aside while you make your muffin batter.
In a large mixing bowl, mix dry ingredients – all purpose flour, baking powder and salt together. Sift and set aside.
In another mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar together for approximately 2 minutes until pale and fluffy.
Add in eggs, one at a time and beat until well incorporated.
Add in vanilla extract and mix until well combined.
Add in half of the flour mixture and beat on low speed, followed by milk and the remaining half portion of flour mixture. Mix until well combined and be careful not to over mix the batter.
Gently fold in the frozen blueberries into the batter.
Scoop batter evenly between cupcake liners. Scatter generously the crumble mix on top of each muffin and bake in a preheated oven of 190 degree Celsius for 30 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
Leave the muffins in the muffin tray for about 10 minutes before transferring them to cool completely on a cooling rack.

DSC08857

Couldn’t resist these muffins so I sliced one up and taste tested half of a muffin. The muffin texture was soft and moist due to the blueberries while the crumble topping was crunchy. Sweetness level was just right as I had reduced the quantity. If you like Blueberry Muffins, do try this recipe and I am sure you will like it as much as I do.

4 thoughts on “Baking #84: Blueberry Crumble Muffins

    1. The trip was okay. Did not get to do any shopping but I ate a lot. My relatives kept on bringing me out for food hunting to the extent that I had to refuse some. Don’t want my diet plan to go wasted. LOL!

      Have you heard there is a new cafe called Library Cafe? I heard it was located at one of the new buildings in Regent Square. Menu is limited though.

  1. So i am expecting a lot of food reviews from Kuching to come lol! Yup i’ve heard of Library Cafe. I haven’t go there yet. But i already went to Rack and Brew! Love their cakes like Victorian spongecake and blueberry cheesecake :3

    1. Unfortunately, I do not have any food review from Kuching. I did not visit any hipster cafe in Kuching albeit there are a lot of them. Just couldn’t find the right companion to go with. My relatives brought me to those hawker kopitiam to try the local delicacies. LOL!

      My friend tried R&B yesterday evening and she was hugely disappointed. According to her, the food were nothing special. Pretty much overrated by local foodies. I am supposed to try R&B this Sunday but cancelled. Gonna go Belluno Cafe instead.

Leave a Reply

