Review: Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe

Aloha! It’s been almost two weeks since I last updated. To be honest, the novelty for blogging had worn off bit by bit since I started dieting couple of months. Most of my free time nowadays consisted of watching drama series which I downloaded rather than cafe hopping or baking. I still bake but I don’t repeat the same recipe anymore unless it is really good.

So, I tried Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe with Jennifer last Sunday before our movie of The Last Witch Hunter. I was rather stressed about work last week and I feel the need of de-stressing. I used to de-stress by loading up on calories but I can no longer make do with calories anymore.

So, I asked Jennifer if she wanted to join me for a movie at the cinema after our lunch date but it can’t be horror movie as my heart can’t take horror movies. LOL! There were only two movies’ selection which I was interested in – Our Times and The Last Witch Hunter. The Last Witch Hunter was meh for me. Long beginning but short ending. So, it was kinda boring for me.

Anyways, let’s get started with my review on Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe. R&B was nearly full house when we were there but we were lucky enough to have a small table for two. We both ordered ourselves one main course each but shared to taste test.

DSC08971

Orange, Pineapple & Passionfruit | B$6.00

*Update* Finally compensated what I left with a question mark symbol previously. I went back to R&B again yesterday evening. So, took a picture of their beverage menu section so that I don’t forget what I order again.

DSC08973

Orange Chicken Katsu | B$10.90

This was what Jennifer ordered the other day. It came with breaded chicken chop, onion rings, caramelized vegetables and special homemade orange sauce. I am pretty sure most of you would wonder how chicken would taste with orange sauce.

I liked that their breaded chicken chop as it was not dry. The combination of chicken chop with their homemade orange sauce was refreshing. It was an okay dish but not something I would order if I were to return to R&B.

DSC08979

Chicken Pesto Crepe Lasagna | B$13.00

What attracted me to this dish was the pesto. I love dishes which come with pesto sauce. It did took me quite some time to decide if I should order this or something else as lasagna contains high carbs and calories. In the end, I decided to go ahead thinking that I will only eat half portion. xD

If you love lasagna and pesto, this is definitely something you should try. The lasagna came with generous portion of minced chicken and cheese! The pasta was cooked just nice and the fillings were not dry at all. To be honest, I think the portion given was good for two. I would not mind ordering this again next time but provided that there is someone to share with.

Verdict:

Customer service was good enough for me though we waited a bit for our bill to come. We resorted to just going to the counter for payment rather than waiting for the waitress to come with our bill. Food came promptly after ordering albeit the cafe was packed with customers.

Food wise, they were hit and miss. The Orange Chicken Katsu was average while the Chicken Pesto Crepe Lasagna was good for me. Both Jennifer and I have yet tried their desserts as there were no more room for dessert after our main courses. But we are definitely returning for desserts as we were intrigued by their Green Tea Tiramisu.

DSC09039

Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe
Unit 9, Block H,
1st & 2nd Floor,
Abdul Razak Complex,
Gadong,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Negara Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2457886

2 thoughts on “Review: Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe

  1. I wouldn’t really recommend you the green tea cheesecake. It tasted average. I recommend the Victorian sponge cake and Coconut cheesecake ❤

    1. Hmm … Victorian Spongecake? Coconut Cheesecake sounds good. Have you tried the desserts from Fleur-de-lys? I bought a Mango Mousse Cheesecake the other day and it was good!

Leave a Reply

