20112015 / Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe

This was my second visit to Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe this month. Kaylie had been wanting to try Rack & Brew since she heard about the said cafe. We decided to meet up yesterday evening as it had been quite some time since we last meet up.

We decided to go Rack & Brew as I wanted to try their Purple Carrot Cake. But unfortunately, it was sold out. So, I settled with their Victoria Sponge Cake. It was good but the fillings were overly sweet for me though.

Anyways, let’s get started with the food pictures!

DSC09133

Orange Carrot | B$6

Now that I am more diet conscious, I would go for healthy juices or just plain water when dining outside. But I still do cave in once in a while and order coffee sometimes. LOL! This juice comes with a slight sweetness from both orange and carrot. It tasted rather raw at first sip but got better gradually.

I still prefer their Orange, Pineapple & Passionfruit but this one is good enough if you are looking for something cooling and refreshing. Kaylie mentioned that she liked the hourglass shaped glass. xD They were using mason jars previously but I guess they changed to this hourglass shaped bottles now.

DSC09139

Cafe Latte | B$5

It doesn’t take a genius to figure out who ordered this. LOL! There are two types of coffee bean which you could choose from – smoke or intense. Smoke is the mild version coffee beans while intense is the stronger one. And of course, Miss Kaylie here went for the intense one.

DSC09136

Sundried Tomato Pesto Chicken | B$8

Instead of using normal sandwich bread, they used Turkish bread toasted with sundried tomato pesto chicken and cheese. The sandwich came with fries. Love the sandwich filling as it was generous but I think they went slightly out of hand with the salt and black pepper. Fries were good, crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside.

My colleague was craving for fries the other day and we went Peppermint Cafe. Should have brought her here and I am sure she will love the fries but maybe not the price though.

DSC09141

Char Siu Kolo Mee | B$5

Red sauce Kolo Mee with chicken Char Siu, minced chicken and deep fried chicken skin. I tried a bit of the Kolo Mee and find it average only. I had eaten better than this and it didn’t even cost this much. Kaylie complained that they went out of hand with the seasoning as the noodles tasted extremely salty when she was almost finishing.

DSC09147

Victoria Sponge Cake | B$5

Decided to give this a try as per the recommendation of a reader (Matsu) since their Purple Carrot Cake was sold out.  Victoria Sponge Cake is basically layers of sponge cakes with whipped cream and strawberries sandwiched in between layers. Or at least, that was what I came to know from YouTube.

Instead of using fresh strawberries, this Victoria Sponge Cake from R&B came with strawberry preserve. It was sweet and yet slightly sour at the same time. The sponge cake was good though, not overly sweet. Both Kaylie and I ended up eating the sponge cakes only.

Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe
Unit 9, Block H,
1st & 2nd Floor,
Abdul Razak Complex,
Gadong,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Negara Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2457886

4 thoughts on “20112015 / Rack & Brew Boutique Cafe

  1. Awww you did try the Victorian spongecake after all lol. I guess i could handle the sweetness because its bearable for my sweet tooth xD Lol that amount of kolo mee though…

    1. Yeah … My first choice was Purple Carrot Cake but they were sold out so I went ahead with your recommendation. My friend wanted to try their Salted Caramel Cake though but she was too full from her Kolo Mee and the fries from my platter. So, she ended up not ordering it in the end.

      Hahaha … The portion of Kolo Mee indeed looked very small though. I wouldn’t order Kolo Mee though as I could find cheaper and better choices of Char Siu Kolo Mee from Miri. And it tasted a lot better too!

      But I saw a lot of Muslim patrons ordering their Chicken Char Siu Kolo Mee though. The specialty of this Kolo Mee is probably the deep fried chicken skin, I guess?

  2. I dont think i would give their Kolo Mee a try with that lil amount xD lol.

    Talking about cakes and desserts, have you been to VK’s kitchen (Im not sure if it’s correct) at Citis Square? Their cakes look so delicious :9 I just saw them at their IG I wanna go there next time :3

    1. I was thinking of trying their Kolo Mee the other day but thank goodness, I did not. Or else I would have banged my head to the wall after having my first bite. LOL!

      Nah … I have not tried VK Rafia at Citis Square. Now that you mentioned it, I think I am gonna give it a try over the weekend. I had seen their Instagram too. I think it was established by a used to be freelance baker or something. Not sure about it though but I think I read the introduction somewhere.

      Will let you know the feedback once I had tried it. xD

Leave a Reply

