Review: Permaisuri Superior King, Imperial Hotel (New Wing)

Stayed at Imperial Hotel (New Wing) this time round as Meritz Hotel was fully booked and they only have Deluxe Twin left. I am not keen about having twin beds in the room. Alan recommended me Imperial Hotel (New Wing) as he had been there when his cousin stayed there couple of months ago.

Check-in was only allowed after 3:00p.m. in the afternoon. Ing dropped me off at the hotel around check-in time so that I can get my much needed rest before preparing to go out for dinner. Unlike the Imperial Hotel in the old wing whereby reception lobby is on the ground floor, this one was located on the 4th floor. It was like Le Royal Meridien in Shanghai.

I was assigned to Room 6209 on Level 6 this time round. I had booked for Superior Room. The Reservation Clerk who attended my reservation booking got my information wrong the other day. I was booked for this coming weekend instead of yesterday. Lucky for me, there was still rooms available. So, no hiccup there.

DSC09250

View of the room from entrance. I loved the room the moment when I walked in as it was so new and clean. The main reason I chose this hotel was because it was newly opened. Room was spacious enough to walk around. Bathroom was on the right side while the wardrobe was on the left upon entering the room.

DSC09265

Safe deposit box provided to safe guard your valuables. I kept my electronic gadgets and passport inside the safe as I feared I might lose my passport while I am outside.

DSC09251

Bathroom, came equipped with a bathtub and toiletries necessities which I only used their shower cap and sanitary bag. LOL!

DSC09253

Instead of installing water hose next to the toilet seat, they installed this kind of toilet seat. I think this is the first hotel in Miri whereby such toilet seat was installed in hotel rooms. The first one I came across was at Westgate Hotel in Taipei.

DSC09255

DSC09256

Comfy bed which I slept through without waking up in the middle of the night.

DSC09260

Instead of the old box television, this room came equipped with a Samsung flat screen television. I still remember that they provided old box television at Imperial Hotel in the old wing. I brought my laptop with me this time round so I did not get to enjoy the flat screen television.

Verdict: I think I am gonna stay at Imperial Hotel (New Wing) the next time I am in Miri for an overnight trip. I love Meritz Hotel for the location but the hotel looked a bit rundown albeit it has only been opened for a couple of years.

Imperial Hotel (New Wing) is located inside Permaisuri Imperial City Mall. Permaisuri Imperial City Mall is one of the recently built malls in Miri whereby you can find quite a number of mid range international brands like MANGO, Esprit, GUESS and so on.

Free room WiFi was provided but it was slow. Some websites were non accessible though especially downloading websites. Love the power shower in the bathroom but the only downside is that you may get a sudden surge of water coming out like every one minute?

Complimentary breakfast will be given for two per room. Breakfast spread was extensive compared to the one in the old wing. At least, I managed to get my healthy breakfast from the buffet spread. They even have soft boiled eggs upon request. Most of the hotels only make sunny side up and scrambled eggs.

There are other food options both inside and outside the mall. Lucky for you, most of them are within walking distance from the hotel. If you needed a coffee break, there is Starbucks Coffee and Mayland Coffee House located just right next to the concierge lobby on the ground floor. Unfortunately, both Starbucks and Mayland only open for business around 10:00a.m. in the morning.

Speaking of concierge, I wanted to drop my luggage with the concierge service before my check-in hours. I thought I will be able to do so over the check-in counter. The receptionist kindly told me that I had to proceed to the ground floor for concierge service. It turned out that there was no one at the concierge lobby all the time when I passed by the area. And most importantly, there is nothing which you could press to summon a bell boy. So, this is something which I think the hotel need to improve on. Not sure if it was my lucky day or it had been like this since opening.

Room rate was RM205 nett per night, inclusive of GST and service charge. Standard room was RM195 nett if I am not mistaken. I chose Superior Room as I wanted a room with bigger walking space. Having stayed in a couple of 5 stars hotel had somehow upgraded my preference in hotels, which is not a good thing.

Imperial Hotel (New Wing)
Lot 827, Block 9,
MCLD, Jalan Pos,
Miri, Sarawak,
Malaysia
Tel: +6-085431133
Website: http://www.imperial.com.my

Leave a Reply

