Baking #100: Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake

Finally reaching my 100th post on baking! I think I had baked more than that but some of them just weren’t fit enough to make it here. As parents were both away for the weekend, I took the opportunity to bake as much as I could.

I had wanted to try some recipes on muffins but my ice-cream scoop was broken the other day and I have not gotten round to find a replacement yet. I did found one yesterday at The Potters but then it doesn’t seem practical and the price was horrendous.

Anyways, I baked two chiffon cakes yesterday – Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake and Pandan Chiffon Cake. I bought a packet of Gula Melaka (palm sugar) couple of months ago. So, I thought why not make them into a chiffon cake as I had seen a couple recipes on the Internet.

DSC00106

Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake (adapted from Singapore Home Cooks by Fc Ng)

Ingredients:
Yields: 22cm

  • 5 egg yolks
  • 125g gula melaka, chopped
  • 45g corn oil
  • 85ml coconut milk
  • 2g salt *1/2 tsp*
  • 117g cake flour
  • 5 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 30g fine granulated sugar

Directions:

  1. In a clean mixing bowl, melt gula melaka, oil, salt and coconut milk together over a double boiler. Careful not to allow the mixture to bowl.
  2. Once completely melted, remove from heat and let cool for about 5 minutes.
  3. Whisk in one egg at a time until well combined.
  4. Sift in cake flour and mix well until no flour lump could be seen.
  5. In another clean mixing bowl, beat egg whites with cream of tartar until frothy.
  6. Gradually add in sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peaks stage.
  7. Gently fold in one third of the meringue into the gula melaka batter and repeat the same with the remaining two thirds of the meringue until no white streak could be seen.
  8. Gently give the mixing bowl a few taps on the kitchen worktop to break the air bubbles trapped inside the batter.
  9. Pour from a height into an ungreased 22cm chiffon pan and bake in a preheated oven of 160 degree Celsius for approximately 45 to 50 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  10. Invert chiffon pan immediately when removed from the oven for approximately 2 hours or cool enough to be handled.

DSC00111

So, this was how my Gula Melaka Chiffon Cake looked on the inside when sliced. I was over the moon when I was able to dislodge the cake perfectly by attempting bare hand method without a single tear! Goodness, I should have used this method long ago. I always feel grumpy whenever my chiffon cake was dislodged looking unappealing.

Had one slice myself and shared the remaining with Clara, San Diann and their families when we met over high tea session at Yugo Dessert Cafe. According to San Diann, the cake tasted yummy. I thought so too.

The taste of gula melaka was pretty distinctive in my opinion but I would prefer it to be less sweeter. Perhaps I gotta tweak the recipe a little bit the next time I am attempting it again. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

Leave a Reply

