Singapore 2016 (Part 2)

I have decided to do an entry for We are the Furballs (WTF) separately. But in the meantime, I am just gonna blog about the second part of my Singapore trip. Came back for almost a week and I am still not done with my Singapore blog entry.

After our early dinner at Brotzeit in VivoCity, the four of us went separate ways. Both Sister and I returned to hotel to refresh ourselves as I wasn’t feel that well in the afternoon. Had been having migraine when it had been more than half a year since I had one. Andrea went home too to shower while Patrick stayed in the city centre for some cuff link shopping.

The four of us met at Bugis MRT Station before heading to We are the Furballs (WTF). I think WTF deserves a separate blog entry as I wanna show you how cute the puppies are! After our pet “bonding” session at WTF, the four of us met up with King for supper at Ah Chew Desserts.

DSC00455

Finally got to try Ah Chew Desserts after so many years. Patrick and Andrea intended to bring me to Ah Chew Desserts couple of years ago but we ended up at Ji De Chi Desserts when I saw that the queue was super long. It was a Saturday evening and everyone stayed out late hence the queue was longer in comparison to when we were there two Sundays ago.

DSC00456

This was our first round of supper. We had two rounds as we stayed there for like two hours before leaving. Gosh, we had so much to catch up on. The only regret we had was no group picture was taken.

Both Andrea and King had Mango Sago. Sister and I shared Durian Sago with Mango & Pamelo while Patrick himself had a bowl of Black Sesame Paste.

By the time we were heading home, it was 12:30AM. The three of them took cabs home while Sister and I decided to walk back. It was a good 20 minutes walk to burn some calories. It was not much but it somehow made me feel better. LOL!

Both Sister and I did some free and easy window shopping on Monday morning as Patrick and Andrea were working. We had our breakfast at Wild Honey, Mandarin Gallery instead of Forty Hands.

WILD HONEY, MANDARIN GALLERY
333A Orchard Road, #03-01/02 Mandarin Gallery, Singapore 238897

DSC00499

DSC00496

DSC00500

As mentioned in my previous blog entry, both Patrick and I wanted to try Wild Honey on the day when I arrived but the waiting list was horrendous and we both ended up at Tonkatsu by Ma Maison instead. So, I would suggest going there on a weekday instead of weekend unless you do not mind waiting.

The cafe was only half occupied when we arrived some time before 10AM. So, we got normal table instead of high table.

DSC00465

Latte | S$6

The good thing about Wild Honey is that you could choose full fat or skimmed milk for your coffee. I chose skimmed milk, of course. To be honest, most of the cafes in Singapore which I had been to do not provide milk options.

DSC00467

Brain Booster | S$9

It wasn’t this little when served. Sister took a few sips before I managed to get some snaps of the beverage. This was beetroot juice if I am not mistaken.

DSC00493

Raw Coconut Birche | S$15

This is a gluten free breakfast dish. I did not have an accurate food description as I did not snap a picture of their menu. From what I gathered, there were desiccated coconut, cubed mangoes, coconut flesh and fresh blueberries.

I wasn’t at all keen when this was being served to us. But after taking a few bites, I realized that it was not as bad as I thought it would be. It was quite tummy filling if I may say so. This cup of breakfast is filled with healthy goodness!

DSC00489

Tunisian | S$24

Sizzling pan of spicy shakshouka (tomato, onion, red pepper, chili), studded with Chorizo sausage, crowned with two fried eggs, signature brioche & Israeli salad

This Tunisian dish is a signature dish of Wild Honey. It was highly raved in the food reviews which I had read before going to Wild Honey. I was completely sold with the spicy shakshouka but disappointed with the brioche. It wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. The Israeli Salad was pretty good though.

After our breakfast at Wild Honey, we walked to ION Orchard for some window shopping. By 1:30PM, I was low on blood sugar and I can feel the dizziness in me. We decided to find some lunch before moving on as I could not function properly when I am low on blood sugar. I can feel my legs being wobbly. Asked Andrea for recommendation of a good Vietnamese place around ION Orchard and she recommended me NamNam Noodle Bar situated at Wheelock Place.

NAMNAM NOODLE BAR
501 Orchard Road, #B2-02, Wheelock Place, Singapore 238880

DSC00504

Sugar Cane Juice | S$3.50

This was a glass of good and refreshing Sugar Cane Juice and it has a slight distinctive taste of lime too! What’s special about NamNam Noodle Bar is that they use biodegradable bamboo straw instead of the usual plastic straw. It is so much eco-friendly compared to the plastic straw.

DSC00502

Pho Chicken | S$9

We did not want to have a heavy lunch. So, we decided to share this bowl of Pho Chicken with some appetizers. Our Pho Chicken came with sliced chicken and spring onion. The soup base was good but tad bit salty for our liking though. Seeing this made me crave for a good bowl of Chicken Pho too! Perhaps I should make another visit to Pho Hoa Restaurant soon?

DSC00507

Crispy Vietnam Street Snacks | S$4.50

DSC00510

Vegetarian Southern Rolls | S$5.50

We continued our window shopping right after our lunch where I bought a pair of Clarks shoes. We headed back to the hotel to pack our purchases into our luggage and I took some time for a shower before heading out again. Sister and I had an early dinner of economy rice as I am feeling low on blood sugar again.

Dinner with the gang was at Ramen Keisuke Tonkatsu King. No food picture was taken as we were all famished by the time we were seated. We waited for an hour to be seated as they do not allow us in unless everyone in our group are present.

DSC00513

My first try of Meiji Yoghurt and it was really good. Smooth in texture but sweet though. Fairprice was having a promotion for Meiji Yoghurt at four for S$3. So, Sister and I bought two each. I had Strawberry Yoghurt while Sister had Aloe Vera Yoghurt.

So, this basically summed up my Singapore trip. I will do a separate blog entry on We are the Furballs (WTF) as mentioned in my post earlier on and V Hotel Lavender, Singapore.

Leave a Reply

