Baking #108: Chia Seeds Banana Bread

Good morning! I woke up with a blocked nose this morning as I slept with the air-conditional on when I should not be. I had porridge for dinner yesterday evening. It was not the best one but it will suffice for eating clean while my body is not at it’s best state. Ordered one Fried Noodles for takeaway for Dad as supper and it turned out to be our breakfast this morning. LOL!

Anyways, I baked Chia Seeds Banana Bread yesterday evening after coming home from dinner with the leftover Dole Philippines bananas which I bought over the weekend and I still have a bunch of local Pisang Berangan which a family friend gave. Not sure what I should be doing with the extras. Bake or eat plain?

DSC00880

Chia Seeds Banana Bread (adapted from The Domestic Goddess Wannabe)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of bananas, mashed *3 large Dole Philippines bananas*
  • 1 large egg
  • 120g unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup milk, room temperature *full cream milk*
  • 1-1/2 cup plain flour
  • 3/4 cup caster sugar *100g*
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup regular rolled oats *omitted*
  • 1/8 cup chia seeds *20g*

Directions:

  1. In a clean mixing bowl, mix dry ingredients – plain flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. Sift and set aside.
  2. In another clean mixing bowl, stir both melted butter and sugar together.
  3. Once the butter and sugar had been mixed, add in the egg. You have to work fast or else the egg will cook in the heat of the melted butter.
  4. Add in milk, mashed bananas and chia seeds. Mix well.
  5. Make a well in the centre of the flour mixture, pour in the wet mixture and gently fold them. Stop immediately when both mixture are well incorporated as you do not want to overmix your batter.
  6. Pour batter into a lined 9×5 loaf pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 50 to 60 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  7. Cool in the pan for approximately 10 to 15 minutes before transferring onto cooling rack to cool completely.

DSC00888

DSC00883

The original recipe on The Domestic Goddess Wannabe included regular rolled oats but I omitted from mine as I do not like the texture of rolled oats. I did it once before and the cake tasted like cardboard. Reduced the sugar by 50g and the cake still tasted sweet to me. Albeit the cake comes with chia seeds but you can barely taste or eat them as they are too small. So, the chia seeds do not in any way affect the texture of the cake.

My Chia Seeds Banana Bread looked rather out of shape as I lined my loaf pan with baking parchment paper. I greased my loaf pan with some butter previously and it was such a pain on the neck washing the pan later on. Mom complained about it and I decided to use baking parchment paper this time round. Save all the hassle of deep scrubbing. LOL!

Leave a Reply

