Baking #112: Blueberry Orange Loaf Cake

Just baked Blueberry Orange Loaf Cake this morning and they were now sitting on the freezer top to cool down before I slice them up to share with friends. I attempted this recipe previously and it tasted so good albeit being hideously looking. That was why the cake never made it here on this blog. LOL! Now that they are not hideously looking, they are able to make their appearances here!

DSC01071

I bought this life saver kitchen gadget last Sunday from LeApple Bakery Mart. It is one expensive kitchen gadget at B$45 each but it was well worth every penny spent! I could have asked Sister to get me one from Taobao but I doubted the authenticity of the product. I feared that it was some fake Microplane.

DSC01073

DSC01074

Blueberry Orange Loaf Cake (adapted from The Domestic Goddess Wannabe)

Ingredients:

  • 8oz (225g) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 4 oz (113.5) unsalted butter, softened *113g*
  • 1-1/2 cups (300g) fine granulated sugar *120g*
  • 1 tbsp orange zest *zest from one big navel orange*
  • 5 large eggs
  • 2-2/3 cups (333g) plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup (60ml) freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 cup (240ml) plain yogurt *251g Dairy Farmers Vanilla Yogurt*
  • 1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries *188g fresh blueberries*
  • icing sugar for dusting, optional *omitted*

Directions:

  1. In a clean mixing bowl, mix dry ingredients – flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together. Sift and set aside.
  2. Take two heap tablespoonful of the sifted flour and coat the fresh blueberries with them. This is to prevent the blueberries from sinking while baking. However, this step is completely optional if you are using frozen blueberries.
  3. In another clean mixing bowl, cream butter and cream cheese together until creamy. Add in orange zest and sugar, mix until the mixture is light and fluffy.
  4. Add in the eggs, one at a time, and beat to combine after each addition.
  5. Add in sifted dry ingredients and the wet ingredients (orange juice & yogurt) in the sequence of dry-wet-dry-wet-dry. Make sure you end the sequence with flour.
  6. Gently fold in flour coated blueberries to just incorporate.
  7. Pour batter into two lightly greased and lined 9×5-inches baking loaf pans and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 50 to 55 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  8. Allow the cake to cool in the baking pan for 10 to 15 minutes before unmoulding the cake to cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

The original recipe actually called for a bundt cake pan but I was not keen on using one as my oven is pretty size in size and my bundt cake pan literally took the size of half of the oven. I do not want to risk getting a burnt top Blueberry Orange Bundt Cake. Hence, I used two 9×5-inches loaf pans.

DSC01076

So, this was how my Blueberry Orange Cake Loaf looked like on the inside. I made two loaves, one loaf for Jennifer and another loaf shared between Jia and my family. I liked the texture albeit Sister mentioned that it was tiny bit dry. I think she ate the crust hence the texture was kind of dry. The taste of cream cheese was not strong as the orange citrus taste sort of overpowered it.

Albeit I coated my fresh blueberries with some flour, I think the blueberries were on the verge of sinking. LOL! But still, I love this recipe as I love the combination of cream cheese with orange. I think you must like citrus taste a lot in order to enjoy this cake. I do not mind trying Lemon Blueberry Cake next time.

8 thoughts on “Baking #112: Blueberry Orange Loaf Cake

    1. Thank you for the reminder! Completely missed out the flour part. How have you been? It’s been a while since you last blogged.

      Anyways, if you intended to try this recipe, go buy the Philadelphia Cream Cheese from Hua Ho in Kiulap or Serusop. Currently on offer whereby it is B$2.99 each when normal price is B$4.50 each. But of course, soon to expire product. LOL! But as long as it didn’t grow mold, okay for me.

      1. Hahah.. Have been busy =) just popped out a baby recently (saying it like its a random thing) lol.. But will be back to blogging again and hopefully no more hiatus this time! Thanks for the info on the cream cheese.. will get them soon – hopefully not expiring too soon =)

      2. Congratulations on your newborn baby! Baby boy or girl? I did wonder previously if you are pregnant as I see that you haven’t been blogging for nearly a year. Just the right time gap to pop a baby. LOL! Are you still on maternity leave at the moment?

        As for the cream cheese, last I saw the expiry date was around August. Not sure if I saw the right date as the ones I bought are expiring in a week time. LOL! So, I wanna use them up as soon as possible. It’s Thai durian season soon and I am thinking of making Durian Cheese Cake. 😀

        As for the blueberries, you could choose frozen or fresh ones. Economically wise, I think it is cheaper to buy those frozen ones from Supa Save. B$9.50 from Waitrose Essentials and B$12.90 from Ardo. Both also came in the volume of 500g.

        Fresh blueberry is the most expensive one in Supa Save. B$5.80 per punnet. But I think fresh ones tasted better than the frozen ones.

        Hope this helps!

      3. Thank you haha it’s a baby girl =) Just finished my maternity leave and now back at work already. Didnt feel like coming back to work after such a nice long maternity leave lol..

        Durian Cheese Cake sounds nice.. raya is coming soon, maybe you can make and give some to your malay friends as a nice raya gesture..

        I never like buying frozen fruits.. somehow they taste different, unless I am getting like raspberries and blackberries.. they dont sell them fresh in Supa Save as I have noticed =)

      4. I have friends who used to say the same thing too after their long maternity leave. LOL!

        Durian Cheesecake is indeed a good cake but I don’t think it is something I would splurge on giving family friends as one Durian Cheesecake requires around B$20 worth of Chanee Durian. Not inclusive of the cost of cream cheese and digestive biscuits too!

        I do buy frozen blueberries nowadays as they don’t sink easily inside the cake when baking. But the downside is that the batter turns bluish when you fold the blueberries in. LOL!

        Yeah … Supa Save doesn’t have fresh blackberries or blackberries. Is blackberries nice? The frozen ones, are they sweet or sour coz I found a recipe which uses blackberries. As I had never tried blackberries before, I made do with blueberries instead.

        Oh yeah … The cream cheese! I was at Hua Ho Delima yesterday. They are still selling the cream cheese for B$2.99 per packet but all are expiring in June 14.

      5. Blackberries are nice.. actually all berries taste the same to me in my opinion lol if you’re lucky you get sweet ones =)

        Expiring June 14 for the discounted cream cheese.. too soon.. aiyah! cannot buy lol >,<

      6. I think I once tried the blackberries from the frozen packets of mixed berries. It was pretty sour to me. LOL!

        For me, as long as the cream cheese doesn’t grow mold, still can eat. Sometimes, I do eat expired yogurt. But as long as they don’t curdle or go sour, still fine though not recommended.

        My sister also ate up my expired yogurt few days ago. Hahaha … We are like this.

Leave a Reply

