Baking #115: Blueberry Banana Bread

Deliberately set my phone alarm to ring at 6AM so that I could wake up to take out the required ingredients from the fridge to leave them to cool to room temperature before using them for baking. I was due to wake up again half an hour later only to find out later on that I unset both alarms when I switched off the first one. LOL!

Scrambled out of bed immediately when Mom asked me what was I going to do with the blueberries submerging in water overnight. I normally shower for work around 8AM and it was already 7:25AM when I started measuring the ingredients. Lucky for me, this recipe is the loaf type instead of muffins whereby I do not have to wait by the oven before I send in another batch of muffins.

DSC01490

Blueberry Banana Bread (adapted from Laura in the Kitchen)

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature *114g*
  • 3/4 cup fine granulated white sugar *100g fine textured brown sugar*
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour *250g*
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup milk *full cream milk*
  • 4 ripe bananas, mashed *2 large Thai bananas*
  • 1-1/2 cups fresh blueberries *178g*
  • zest of 1 large orange

Directions:

  1. In a large mixing bowl, mix together – all purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Sift and set aside for later use.
  2. In another bowl, toss the blueberries with 1/4 cup of the sifted flour mixture until the fresh blueberries were evenly coated with the flour. This is to prevent the blueberries from sinking onto the bottom of the cake when baking.
  3. In another large mixing bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar together until light and fluffy.
  4. Add in orange zest and vanilla extract, mix well.
  5. Add in eggs, one at a time and beat well before adding the next egg.
  6. Add in sifted flour mixture and milk in the sequence of dry-wet-dry and make sure you end the sequence with flour.
  7. Gently fold in the fresh blueberries to just incorporate.
  8. Pour batter into a 9×5-inches baking loaf pan and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for approximately 60 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  9. Allow the cake to cool in the baking pan for 10 to 15 minutes before cooling the cake completely on a wire cooling rack.

DSC01521

So, this was how my Blueberry Banana Bread looked on the inside. I guess tossing the blueberries with some flour beforehand really works as the blueberries did not sink onto the bottom of the cake. Texture wise, the cake was a bit wet compared to my previous bakes with blueberries whereby most of the blueberries sunk to the bottom.

However, I was pretty disappointed with the result of this cake. Honestly, it has nothing to do with the recipe. It was probably due to the different kind of bananas which I used this time round. I normally use the local Pisang Berangan or Dole Philippines Cavendish bananas for the sweetness. As I could not find both of the mentioned, I resorted to something new – Thai Bananas.

The taste of banana was not at all distinctive. You can smell banana wafting through the kitchen while baking but no taste of banana when you took a bite on the cake. The taste of orange zest is partially distinctive but not as strong as I wanted it to be. As I reduced the sugar portion and made use of brown sugar instead of white, my cake turned out to be a bit salty as 1 tsp of salt was used. And the amount of sugar was not enough to cover the saltiness.

I am gonna retry this recipe again next time but with Pisang Berangan or Dole Philippines Cavendish Bananas and white sugar instead of brown.

Leave a Reply

