Baking #117: Orange Pound Cake

I had finally gotten round to attempt this recipe which I found on YouTube earlier this month. I was craving for an orange flavored cake at the time so I bookmarked this recipe with the intention of baking it on that particular weekend. But I never gotten round to do so as I got caught up with other things to do.

But I decided to attempt this recipe this evening albeit I had so many ripe bananas sitting on the kitchen worktop at the moment. I guess I got to do something with those bananas before they go rotten and ended up in the dumpster.

DSC01564

Orange Pound Cake (adapted from Roti & Rice)

Ingredients: 

  • 265g all-purpose flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 170g unsalted butter, softened
  • 165g fine granulated white sugar *150g*
  • 3 large eggs
  • 180ml milk *full cream milk*
  • 90ml freshly squeezed orange juice
  • zest from 1 orange *2 oranges*

Directions:

  1. In a clean mixing bowl, mix both all-purpose flour and baking powder together. Sift and set aside.
  2. In another clean mixing bowl, cream together butter, sugar and orange zest until light and fluffy.
  3. Beat in eggs, one at a time until well combined.
  4. Add in sifted dry ingredients and the wet ingredients (orange juice & milk) in the sequence of dry-wet-dry-wet-dry. Make sure you end the sequence with flour.
  5. Pour batter into a lined and lightly greased 9×5-inches baking loaf pan and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for 50 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean in the centre of the cake.
  6. Leave the cake to cool in the pan for approximately 10 to 15 minutes before removing it to cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

DSC01567

So, this was how my Orange Pound Cake looked like when I sliced it in the morning. I left it to cool overnight and to let the flavor sink in more before slicing it up. The cake has a rich orange flavor which I love as I used the zest of two oranges instead of one. The cake is soft and smooth with melt-in-the-mouth texture.

DSC01569

This is the up close view of my Orange Pound Cake. The cake was slightly too sweet for my preference but I am going to reduce the amount of sugar next time when I attempt this recipe again.

If you love orange flavored cake, do try this recipe and make sure you use the zest of two oranges. That way you will get a rich aromatic orange cake like I did!

One thought on “Baking #117: Orange Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

