Baking #120: Sicilian Orange Cake

I bought a pack of 10 oranges last Friday evening after leaving workplace. Wanted to reattempt the Orange Pound Cake from the other day but I found this recipe of Sicilian Orange Cake and got intrigued by it. So, off I went to try out this recipe over the others.

DSC01650

Sicilian Orange Cake (adapted from Aroma Cookery)

Ingredients:

  • 250g salted butter, room temperature
  • 200g fine granulated white sugar *170g*
  • 4 medium eggs *3 large eggs*
  • 250g self-raising flour, sifted
  • zest of one large orange or 2 medium oranges *2 medium oranges*
  • 120ml freshly squeezed orange juice

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl, cream both butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  2. Add in orange zest and mix well.
  3. Add in eggs, one at a egg and be sure that the egg is well beaten before adding in the next egg.
  4. Gently fold in your sifted flour and orange juice in the following sequence (flour-juice-flour-juice-flour) and be sure to end with the flour.
  5. Pour batter into a lightly greased or lined 9×5-inches baking loaf pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 50 to 55 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean in the centre of the cake.
  6. Leave the cake to cool in the baking loaf pan for 15 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

There will not be any picture of how my Sicilian Orange Cake looked like on the inside when sliced as this cake was baked for Dad to bring back to hometown tomorrow morning. But rest assured that this cake was super delicious. I did a bit of taste test with the overflowing “crust” and it was very addictive.

I baked my cake with 180 degree Celsius instead of 170 degree Celsius for 55 minutes as I am using a loaf pan instead of a round baking pan as instructed in the recipe. But I think I am gonna attempt this recipe again next by using a round baking pan.

If you love a rich orange buttery cake, perhaps you should give this recipe a try. Try to use a good butter so that it will yield a better result. I am not using those French butter but this butter from Anchor brand which I had been using yields good butter cakes.

Do try out this recipe and let me know what you think about it. Hopefully, my relatives are gonna like the cake. If you do not like sweet cake, I would suggest you reduce the sugar quantity lower and even lower if you are using an unsalted butter instead of salted butter.

Leave a Reply

