Baking #121: Sicilian Orange Cake (Revisited)

I ended up staying home on a Sunday. It poured cats and dogs as I was getting ready to go out after lunch. So, I decided to wait till the rain stops before heading out and I ended up taking a two hours afternoon nap. LOL! Woke up to slice up the Sicilian Orange Cake which I baked this morning before lunch.

DSC01734

Sicilian Orange Cake (adapted from Aroma Cookery)

Ingredients:

  • 250g salted butter, room temperature
  • 200g fine granulated white sugar *150g*
  • 4 medium eggs *3 large eggs*
  • 250g self-raising flour, sifted
  • zest of one large orange or 2 medium oranges *2 medium oranges*
  • 120ml freshly squeezed orange juice

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl, cream both butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  2. Add in orange zest and mix well.
  3. Add in eggs, one at a egg and be sure that the egg is well beaten before adding in the next egg.
  4. Gently fold in your sifted flour and orange juice in the following sequence (flour-juice-flour-juice-flour) and be sure to end with the flour.
  5. Pour batter into a lightly greased or lined 9×5-inches baking loaf pan and bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 50 to 55 minutes or until an inserted cake tester comes out clean in the centre of the cake.
  6. Leave the cake to cool in the baking loaf pan for 15 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

DSC01737

DSC01738

So, I managed to get some shots of how my Sicilian Orange Cake looked on the inside when I sliced it up as the previous loaf which I baked was for Dad to bring back to Kuching. However, this loaf was completely for home consumption to which I am starting to think a little bit too excessive for the three of us.

I had a slice of this as my afternoon tea and it did not taste as orangy as compared to the one which Dad brought back to Kuching. I had further reduced the sugar quantity hence it did not taste sweet at all but the buttery taste was strong. It was moist and crumbly, I would say.

If you are fan of orange flavored cakes, do give this recipe a try. But I think I am gonna stick with 170g of sugar next time in case if the orange juice is not that sweet.

Leave a Reply

