19072016 / Koryo Restaurant

It is Eldie’s 27th birthday this Friday. We were supposed to go in a group to celebrate his birthday some time this week but Jia decided that she will not be joining us since they will be celebrating together with family over this Friday. So, she told me to go ahead and celebrate with Eldie instead.

I gave Eldie the privilege to choose a place which he wanted to try. He mentioned that he did not have any place in mind and told me to decide instead. Why is it that friends of mine always ask me to decide on venues whenever we are going for meals? And I need to stop eating outside now that my weight is spiking again. Sigh …

We chose Wayback Burgers at first because Eldie has yet been there since opening. Hours before dinner, he texted me via Whatsapp saying that he wanted to try the small Korean restaurant in Kiulap which he wanted to go multiple times but always not open for business. So, Koryo Restaurant it was for dinner then. Business was good at the time we arrived but we still managed to get a table.

DSC01742

Tuna Gimbap | B$3.50

One of my favorite dishes at Koryo Restaurant is this Tuna Gimbap of theirs. I had previously tried the chicken version but found it too dry for my liking. Loved the fillings, especially the preserved radish. But honestly speaking, the rice were too dry this time round.

DSC01746

Chicken Dolsot Bibimbap | B$10.00

We ordered one main course only so that we can try some other side dishes. I had their Kimchi Stew the last time I went Koryo Restaurant and I ended up feeling extremely full towards the end of the meal. So, I ordered Chicken Dolsot Bibimbap to share with Eldie and the portion was just perfect.

I mixed the rice with the given chili paste and the entire preserved kimchi that came with the complimentary condiments. It was very very good! But I would like it better if a little bit of sesame oil was added as well for more flavoring.

DSC01750

Kimchi Pancake | B$5.00

Kimchi Pancake with seafood is just mouthwatering delicious. This is also one of my all time favorite dishes at Koryo Restaurant. I had recommended this Kimchi Pancake to a few friends of mine and they all loved it. I think Koryo Restaurant makes the best Kimchi Pancake in town. Well, this is solely my personal preference.

DSC01753

Spicy Rice Cake | B$10.00

We ordered this because Eldie wanted to. I am not much of a rice cake fan after my toilet incident back in Shanghai years ago. Honestly speaking, there was nothing much to rave about this Spicy Rice Cake of theirs. The rice cake was a little bit hard and chewy. We requested for mildly spicy so the sauce ended up to be a little bit sweet and sticky for our liking.

Koryo Restaurant
B11, Bangunan Lim Eng Ming,
Simpang: 88,
Kampung Kiulap,
Bandar Seri Begawan, BE1518,
Negara Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2239837

Leave a Reply

