Review: Flour & Butter Cafe

Both Jennifer and I finally tried Flour & Butter Cafe yesterday evening after so many failed attempts! We arranged to meet up at 8PM since the place opens at 8PM. I was there early and to find out that the cafe was already open. Went in, ordered myself Chai Latte, sat down, started catching up on my latest Taiwanese drama series while waiting for Jennifer to arrive.

DSC01896

I took this picture two Sundays ago only to find out that they are not operating during day time but 8PM to 11PM from Thursday to Tuesday. They are close on every Wednesday at the moment.

DSC01976

Flour & Butter Cafe is located in the next building from LeApple Bakery & Mart. Easily spotted as the cafe is located just next to LeApple Bakery & Mart.

I did not have any dinner prior to meeting Jennifer at Flour & Butter Cafe. I am fully aware that the cafe is not serving hot food but cakes and some savories. To be honest, I had been intrigued to try their Mushroom Quiche and Durian Cake when they were being advertised on the cafe’s official Instagram profile.

DSC01993

This is their current beverages’ menu that they have. Not sure if they will be adding more choices in the near future but this is the current updated one.

Without further ado, let me show you what the both of us had yesterday evening at Flour & Butter Cafe!

DSC01990

Latte | B$5.00

DSC01977

Chai Latte | B$5.50

I have tried some of the Chai Lattes in Brunei but most of them did not meet my expectation. I had twice tried the Chai Latte from It’s A Grind but it rather milky for my liking. However, this Chai Latte from Flour & Butter Cafe had the perfect balance of chai tea and milk. To be honest, you need to have an “acquired” taste to like Chai. LOL!

All hot drinks came accompanied with two homemade cookies. I got their Almond Cookies and Chocolate Cookie.

DSC01980

Flour & Butter Cafe provides prop like above if you want creative photography. Creative photography aside, you can use the hashtags provided to tag your pictures when you post about them on Instagram.

DSC01987

Mushroom Quiche | B$4.50

Had Mushroom Quiche for dinner as I needed something savory before I can have my sweets. The Mushroom Quiche was heated before serving. The filling was loaded with generous portion of button mushrooms. The sauce however tasted like carbonara to me as they used cream to make the sauce.

The crust tasted buttery for me but at an acceptable level. To be honest, I quite like the filling but not too sure when having too much though.

DSC01983

Durian Cake | B$5.50

As mentioned above, both Jennifer and I went Flour & Butter Cafe for their Durian Cake. It was extremely good, very much to our expectations but even better. The cake came in sponge layered cakes, sandwiched with thick, creamy and rich durian mousse alike filling.

The durian filling has a strong durian taste which we both liked followed by an pandan coconut aftertaste. Pretty subtle, I would say but you could still taste it if you take some time to really “take in” the taste. I am bad with words. Hopefully, you are able to understand the kind of idea that I am trying to convey here.

The top was dusted with powdered sugar and placed with cubed sponge cakes. I bought a slice home for parents as they both like Durian Cake as much as I do. Even Mom agreed that this is one good slice of Durian Cake. Dad missed the cake as he was not feeling too well that night. So, Mom got to enjoy the entire piece herself.

DSC01992

Cookies for sale, if you are interested. I liked their Almond Cookies and Chocolate Cookies. But I think I preferred the latter more as they were not as sweet as the usual Chocolate Cookies which I had before.

Flour & Butter Cafe
No: 29, Ground Floor,
Bangunan Haji Hassan Abdullah,
Menglait, Jalan Gadong,
Bandar Seri Begawan,
Negara Brunei Darussalam
Tel: +673-2422323

Operating Hours: 20:00 – 23:00 (Thursday – Tuesday), closed on every Wednesday.

According to the owner, this is their temporary business operating hours as they are currently understaffed. But rest assured that they will be operating longer hours when they have enough manpower.

Verdict: I like the cozy ambiance of the cafe with some classical jazz playing in the background. Hot food is currently unavailable at the moment but I see that they have a fully equipped kitchen. Coffee menu is the standard ones but good enough if you just want to have a nice cuppa.

Cake selection is pretty extensive, I would say. They have Strawberry Shortcake, Durian Cake, Peach Cheesecake, Blueberry Crepe, Carrot Cake and some more. I do not mind returning again for Chai Latte and to try out their Carrot Cake.

Leave a Reply

