Baking #124: Banana Slow Cake

Jia read my blog this morning and she Skype messaged me asking me where was her share of Banana Oreo Muffins which I promised in another blog entry. It took me a short while to understand what she was saying. LOL! Well, I intended to bake them last Sunday evening but I was short of Oreo and I got invited to attend a dinner event at EMPIRE Hotel & Country Club on short notice.

Anyways, I baked Banana Slow Cake with the leftover ripe bananas. I wanted something easy to bake as I do not feel like doing all the tedious washing up. I love baking but it is the washing up which I hate the most. This recipe for Banana Slow Cake requires minimal ingredients and yet it yields a moist and tasty cake.

Without further ado, let’s get this blog entry rolling!

dsc03529

Banana Slow Cake (adapted from My Mind Patch)

Ingredients:

  • 250g ripe bananas *255g Pisang Berangan*
  • 1 tsp baking soda (bicarbonate of soda)
  • 3 eggs
  • 75g raw sugar *65g*
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 130g cake/top flour *cake flour*
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 40g rice bran oil *canola oil*

Directions:

  1. Mash the ripe bananas until you get a cream alike texture and add in baking soda. Give the banana mixture a stir to make sure that the baking soda is well incorporated. Cover and let the banana mixture stands for 40 minutes.
  2. In a clean mixing bowl, mix together dry ingredients – cake flour, salt and baking powder. Set aside.
  3. Beat eggs with raw sugar until the latter is fully dissolved.
  4. Sift in dry ingredients and mix well.
  5. Pour in banana mixture and mix well. Cover and let the mixture stands for another 40 minutes.
  6. Pour in canola oil and mix well.
  7. Pour batter in a greased or lined 9×5-inches baking loaf pan. Cover and let the mixture stands for 10 minutes.
  8. Bake in a preheated oven of 170 degree Celsius for 35 to 40 minutes until an inserted cake tester comes out clean in the centre of the cake.
  9. Make a shallow slit in the middle of the cake in the first fifteen minutes of baking. This is to allow the cake to crack evenly while baking.
  10. Leave cake to cool in the baking loaf pan for approximately 10 to 15 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

dsc03534

So, this was how the cake looked like when sliced up after it had cooled down completely. On each “standing” period, the batter turned bubbly. I think it was due to both the baking powder and baking soda. I am not sure if other bakers faced the same thing when trying out this recipe. I ignored the formed bubbles and went ahead with baking and the cake still turned out nice.

The texture of the cake is still soft albeit no butter was used but vegetable oil. I usually preferred recipes with butter as it yields and moist and softer cake. Mom commented that the cake tasted sweet due to the Pisang Berangan. However, colleagues commented that the sweetness level was just fine. Mom really does have a weird taste bud sometimes. LOL!  Anyways, this recipe is definitely a keeper if you are looking for a light cake.

Leave a Reply

