Baking #125: Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake (Revisited)

I am having a bit of headache at the moment but it is a lot better now that I have showered. I do not get headache or migraine as often as I used to anymore. So, I am guessing it was due to the lack of sleep as I watched Moon Lovers: Scarlet Heart Ryeo till 3AM this morning. LOL!

After lunch at Flour & Butter Cafe with Jennifer yesterday afternoon, I came home and baked as I felt like doing so. I went grocery shopping on the way home to get the required ingredients as I wanted to reattempt Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake after my last attempt which was more than two years ago.

dsc03552

I usually use Marigold Low Fat Yogurt for my bakes if required but both supermarkets which I went to yesterday ran out of stock. So, I ended up getting this instead. It had a creamier texture and tasted sour in comparison to Marigold’s.

dsc03556

One of the main ingredients required to make this Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake. I used a scissor to cut them into smaller pieces so that there will be lots of dried cranberries scattered all over the chiffon cake.

Without further ado, let’s get started with what I intended to do for today’s blog entry.

dsc03563

Cranberry Yogurt Chiffon Cake (adapted from Happy Home Baking)

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 25g fine granulated white sugar *20g*
  • 40ml vegetable oil *canola oil*
  • 80g plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 80g cake flour
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp lemon juice *optional*
  • 55g fine granulated white sugar *60g*
  • 60g dried cranberries
  • some cake flour to coat the dried cranberries

Directions:

  1. Chop dried cranberries into smaller pieces, coat them with some flour and sift to remove excess. Set aside.
  2. Beat egg yolks with 20g of sugar until they turned slightly pale in color and creamy.
  3. Add in canola oil and mix well.
  4. Add in both lemon juice and plain yogurt. Mix until well incorporated.
  5. Sift in cake flour and mix until no flour lump could be seen.
  6. Beat egg whites with lemon juice until it turned foamy and frothy.
  7. Gradually add in 60g of sugar in three batches until it reaches stiff peak stage.
  8. Gently fold in the meringue into the egg yolks batter in three batches until no white streak could be seen.
  9. Lastly, add in the flour coated dried cranberries into the batter and gently fold them in. Be careful not to overmix the batter.
  10. Pour batter into an ungreased 17cm chiffon pan from a height and bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for 30 minutes or until inserted cake tester comes out clean.
  11. Invert the chiffon pan immediately when removed from the oven for approximately an hour or until the cake is cool enough to be unmoulded.

dsc03566

I do not usually increase sugar quantity in my bakes but I did so for this recipe as the yogurt which I used was pretty sour as compared to the one which I used when I attempted this recipe for the first time. Additionally, I used lemon juice instead of the usual cream of tartar to stabilize the egg whites.

I feared that the excessive usage of lemon juice might may result in a sour taste chiffon cake but the cake turned out to be a lot sweeter than I anticipated. I should have stick to my original decreased sugar quantity. To be honest, I think cream of tartar stabilizes the egg whites better than lemon juice.

Leave a Reply

