Review: Shiseido White Lucent All Day Brightener SPF36

TelBru people had finally came and upgraded my home broadband to fibre optic. The technician who came by my house to diagnose my modem problem assured me that he could have my home broadband upgraded to fibre optic in within a week. And guess what? It was only upgraded about three months later.

Anyways, here comes my review of a new skincare product – Shiseido White Lucent All Day Brightener SPF36 which I bought from the duty free shop at Shanghai Pudong International Airport in September 2016 when coming home from Shanghai. I was previously given a travel size sample of this product but never really gotten to use it until I travel.

Shiseido White Lucent All Day Brightener SPF36

Shiseido White Lucent All Day Brightener SPF36 was launched few years ago and they had introduced an improved version of this product not long ago. The improved version came with higher SPF coverage. I had been slower in following up with Shiseido products’ updates recently as I am more of Elizabeth Arden and Artistry person nowadays.

The product came housed inside a tube packaging with a secure cap to prevent spillage and whatnot. The product comes in one size only, 50ml.

I find Shiseido White Lucent All Day Brightener a convenient product on lazy days or when I am in a hurry. Why is that so you may ask? Shiseido claimed that this is a multi functional product that works as a moisturizer, sunscreen and primer at the same time. When I am using this, I skip both moisturizer and sunscreen, replacing them with Shiseido White Lucent All Day Brightener SPF36. Albeit the SPF coverage is not as high as my regular sunscreen, I find it sufficient enough if I am staying indoor most of the time.

The consistency of the liquid is quite watery in my opinion but I only need an amount smaller than a kidney bean for my entire face. It spreads out easily when applied and it gets absorbed into my skin very quickly as well. I liked that it did not leave a sticky or oily feeling. It is milky in color with slight shimmering powder which gives a tiny bit of shimmering effect on your skin when applied. It leaves a bit of glowing effect on your skin after application.

Fragrance wise, it did not come with a strong scent. It has a typical White Lucent standard fragrant but milder. This is completely subjective to individual’s preference. Some may like an odorless product while some preferred their skincare products to be mildly scented for therapeutic effects?

One of the highlights of this product is of course the whitening and brightening performance since White Lucent is well known for them. After having used this product for quite some time, I can see that my skin complexion is visibly brighter as compared to when I just returned from holiday in September 2016. Everyone around me claimed that my skin had grown darker after coming back from holiday. So, that made a good example for me to vouch for the product effectiveness.

So, here’s what I thought of Shiseido White Lucent All Day Brightener SPF36 in a nutshell:

Pros:
1. Mildly scented.
2. Gets absorbed into the skin fast, leaving a slightly glowing effect.
3. Multi functional product – moisturizer, sunscreen and primer in one.
4. Skin complexion visibly brighter.

Cons:
1. Quite expensive.
2. Lower SPF coverage as compared to my regular sunscreen.

Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Price: ¥327

Repurchase? Yes

Leave a Reply

