Baking #126: Pandan Kaya Bread Loaf

It had been a while since I last did baking. Well, I did attempted a Nutella Chiffon Cake earlier this month before heading to Johor Bahru for a weekend trip. The cake turned out to be badly burnt. It was supposed to be a hand gift for Annie to thank her for her hospitality. As the cake turned out badly, I did not bother to bring it over in the end.

Some time earlier this week, I had the urge to start baking. So, I looked up for recipes which I could attempt over the weekend and I found this relatively easy recipe for a Pandan Kaya Bread Loaf. The only downside is that I had to purchase majority of the ingredients. I seldom do bread baking at home and the ingredients that I had in hand probably had expired by now.

However, what’s good about this recipe is that your bread machine can help you do all the work from kneading to baking! And you will get a fresh homemade bread in the morning. I intended to bake this bread when I woke up in the morning but Dad had forgotten to buy bread for breakfast. So, I resorted to baking this at night and woke up again in the wee hours to remove the bread from the bread machine to cool down.

This is how the dough looked like about 10 minutes into kneading. The color of my dough was a lot greener compared to the original recipe. I think it was due to the color of the pandan paste I used.

Pandan Kaya Bread Loaf (adapted from Lirongs)

Without further ado, let’s get started with the ingredients and how to make this Pandan Kaya Bread Loaf!

Ingredients:

  • 270ml coconut milk
  • 1-1/2 tsp pandan paste
  • 1-1/2 tsp pandan essence
  • 6 tbsp pandan kaya
  • 18g vegetable oil *sunflower oil*
  • 370g bread flour
  • 30g fine granulated white sugar
  • a pinch of salt *1/4 tsp*
  • 4.5g instant yeast

Directions:

  1. Measure all ingredients in advance with measuring cups and spoons.
  2. Remove bread pan from bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Pour in wet ingredients – coconut milk, pandan paste, pandan essence, kaya and vegetable oil.
  4. Add in dry ingredients – bread flour, sugar, salt and yeast.
  5. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  6. Return bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  7. Choose setting (Basic – Normal) and press START.
  8. Wait for bread machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  9. Leave bread loaf to cool on a cooling rack prior to slicing.

The method of making this Pandan Kaya Bread Loaf is with the help of a bread machine. If you do not have a bread machine, you could either hand knead the dough or using a cake mixer. Either way will work just fine.

So, this was how my Pandan Kaya Bread Loaf looked like after it was being sliced. I kept half of the loaf for family’s own consumption and shared the remaining half with Jennifer. Parents had the bread for breakfast this morning. I think they liked it despite being sweet. Perhaps I should consider reducing kaya the next time I am attempting this again.

PS: I upped the ingredients to make a bigger loaf.

Leave a Reply

