Baking #131: Honey Yogurt Wholemeal Loaf

I came home to bake Honey Yogurt Wholemeal Loaf yesterday evening after dinner for breakfast this morning. I decided to attempt this recipe as it had been bookmarked on my phone since last Sunday. Parents went out for some grocery shopping when I came home so it made a perfect timing to start my baking preparation despite all I need to do is to dump the ingredients required into the bread pan and let the bread machine do all the hard work.

Honey Yogurt Wholemeal Loaf (adapted from Happy Home Baking)

Ingredients:

  • 120g full cream milk, cold
  • 70g yogurt
  • 20g unsalted butter, cold
  • 30g honey
  • 40g caster sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 270g bread flour
  • 30g wholemeal bread flour
  • 1 tsp instant yeast

Directions:

  1. Measure all ingredients in advance with measuring cups and spoons.
  2. Remove bread pan from bread machine and install collapsible paddle.
  3. Pour in ingredients in the following sequence – milk, yogurt, butter, honey, sugar, salt, bread flour, wholemeal bread flour and instant yeast.
  4. Wipe spillage outside the bread pan, if any.
  5. Return bread pan into the bread machine and close the lid.
  6. Choose setting (Basic – Normal) and press START.
  7. Wait for bread machine to finish all cycles before removing the bread pan from the bread machine.
  8. Leave bread loaf to cool on a cooling rack prior to slicing.

This was how my Honey Yogurt Wholemeal Loaf looked like after being sliced. The bread looked slightly dense to me in texture. It was not as soft and fluffy as my previous bakes of wholemeal loaves. However, the quality was not compromised.

The bread tasted sweet due to the honey and the honeycomb yogurt I used to make this loaf. I suggested to parents that they should eat the bread with the canola spread which I bought over the weekend and it was good.

Leave a Reply

