Baking #133: Chocolate Cream Cheese Buns

If you had been following my blog regularly, you would have noticed that I had started picking up bread making recently after a long hiatus. I have a love hate relationship with bread making. I had previously tried bread making more than a year ago. The outcome was of unsatisfactory and I stopped until I felt like it recently.

Having used the hands down bread machine courtesy to Jennifer’s mom for bread loaves, I decided to use the bread machine for dough kneading and bake them in the oven. The Sausage Rolls which I made few weeks ago were not passable yet as some were under baked in my opinion. They were rather dense the next day.

I made Chocolate Cream Cheese Buns last Sunday afternoon. My initial intention was to make Cranberry Cream Cheese Buns but I could not find the recipe which used straight dough method as majority required water roux. I think I could adapt the recipe of Wu Pao Chun Champion Toast for the dough and self-improvise the fillings. Perhaps I would try it next time round.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Buns (adapted from Table for 2….. or More)

Note: I am using a bread machine to knead the dough. So, all instructions are bread machine based. However, if you do not have a bread machine, you could always hand knead the dough or by using a stand mixer.

Ingredients:

Dough

  • 190g water
  • 40g unsalted butter
  • 65g sugar
  • 5g salt *1 tsp*
  • 300g bread flour
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp full cream milk powder *Fernleaf*
  • 5g instant yeast *1 1/2 tsp*

Filling

  • 250g cream cheese, room temperature
  • 50g icing sugar *60g*
  • 2 slices of cheddar cheese, chopped *omitted*

Topping

  • 1 egg, beaten
  • almond nibs

Directions:

  1. Put in ingredients into the bread machine. Start off with liquid ingredients – water and butter, followed by the dry ingredients – sugar, salt, bread flour, cocoa powder, full cream milk powder and instant yeast.
  2. Start the machine with Dough setting and let the bread machine work the magic.
  3. In the mean time, mix cream cheese with icing sugar and chill in the fridge for later use.
  4. When the dough is ready, divide into 10 equal pieces and wrap with cream cheese filling.
  5. Place wrapped dough on a lined baking tray or baking cups, let it proof for 45 minutes until they are big in size and puffy looking.
  6. Brush the top of the dough with beaten egg and sprinkle some almond nibs on top.
  7. Bake in a preheated oven of 180 degree Celsius for 15 minutes or until they turned golden brown.

As I had used baking cups this time round, the dough proofed in an evenly manner as compared to before. The filling was not sweet despite I had increased the amount of icing sugar. However, the cream cheese filling was not smooth anymore when they were baked.

Taste wise, it was good. The bun tasted slightly bitter though due to the cocoa powder but it complimented the cream cheese filling extremely well.

Leave a Reply

